Motivation logo

How I, a Dark Little Rain Cloud, Stay Out of an Endless Storm.

Things that inspire me for a brighter tomorrow.

By Sierra LynnPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
2
Being a writer and and amateur photographer are just two things I adore.

There are days in ones life when the world around them comes crashing down. When everything they know comes to a sudden, abrupt stand still. For some these days are few and far apart, they are little known. On the flip side of that coin, these days come often. The dark days sometimes become all that is known unfortunately.

Although this is a truth for many out there in this vast world. Most of these people, myself included, have found the things that give them the little bit of brightness they so desperately crave.

I know this isn't the opening you probably expected, but in the title I did call myself a dark little rain cloud.

Even though that may be true, I have found things everywhere in this world that make me feel more like I'm on cloud nine, compared to what I usually am.

Let's get started, shall we?

1. Poetry, Prose, and the People who Create it.

As many of you may or may not know, I am actually a self published author. In 2019, I published my first poetry collection to amazon. I since have released another book in the same series of the first.

I have been writing since I was young. From sad songs about not getting the last doughnut, to short stories about a princess not needing a prince whatsoever. Many of those songs and stories have since been lost to the sands of time. This, as true as it may be though, is what lead me into the world of poetry. I have kept up with the same writing style since I was young, just building on top of it with refined skills and more intense word play.

Learning all of these techniques has actually come from reading poetry, attending readings, and snooping all across the seven realms of the internet. In my adventures across the internet and social media I have come across plenty of people who write, and many props to all that do. My memory though is short, and I only remember so few of these people. One in particular has always made me smile though, no matter what. Also, he was one of the main reasons I decided to publish my book.

@AtticusPoetry on Instagram has become one of my biggest role models. He has taught me so many lessons though just his short written thoughts. Atticus' writing style may be fairly individualized to his own standards, but that is one of the reasons I personally find it so mesmerizing.

His page is filled to the brim with inspirational quotes, enchanting stanzas, and moving paragraphs. Atticus' work has implanted me on many personal levels. I also know his work on his page and in his books have been very personal to so many others across the globe.

Writing is known to be an incredibly helpful way to relieve stress, and remove thoughts. Reading on the other hand, as well as just listening sometimes, can be one of the most relaxing things in the world.

2. The Idea of a Grand Adventure

I have had the 'travel bug' pretty much my whole life. Ever since I began looking at world atlases when I was a kid snooping around libraries practically.

I have known for years that this planet is a grand, endless sea of culture and beauty. I have also known for years that I want to try and see it all, what ever it takes.

Reciting back to that world atlas we spoke about, that is when I learned about travel photography. I personally take travel photography very seriously. I do my absolute best to take a look into every National Geographic I see on a grocery store shelf. Just to be able to dream I could be anywhere else but the self check out lane.

There's billions of photographs from around the world, yes. Will there be any way I could see them all, probably not. The ones I do get to see though, stick with me, and make my world go round I guess.

Image Credit - https://www.timeout.com/london/news/these-eerie-pictures-show-london-as-a-ghost-town-031920

Photo's, such like the one above, make my heart flutter. There is truth to this decade being one of the luckiest with technology. Knowing I could see the world in just photographs, instead of having to imagine everything about everywhere, really is one of life's greatest shortcuts.

3. Humor in the Mundane.

Last but not least, finding humor in the most mundane of situations. This is probably the most important key to my ever fluttering happiness.

Being able to find comedy in anything is a special talent that few have truly acquired. Some would consider it the reason why so many people find 'The Office' unfunny. (The truth about that being, 'The Office' is about finding humor in even the most mundane situations, which so many people are just unable to do.)

I have been following Youtube creators since I was a kid. In fact I opened a Youtube account at age nine. Anyways, I have followed all types of creators, from comedy sketch makers to fashion/makeup queens.

Plenty of people know about gaming, fashion, and crafting. These things are practically the core of Youtube.

One channel though, has been changing that idea. Making more content about just living your life, and just enjoying the ride that it brings.

Unus Annus. Created by Markiplier and CrankGamePlays. A Youtube channel up for only one year.

Okay, and?

Here's why I look to Unus Annus for good laughs and the sense that everything is going to be okay.

Above is a video from the Unus Annus channel. The title of this video being 'Bad Bad Beans'. The premise of this video, Mark and Ethan make Latte art.

I honestly could not tell you how many times I have watched this video when I am spiraling out of control. It makes me laugh, it makes me smile, it makes me forget everything bad going on I guess. The idea of someone making coffee is not that funny, yes. Mark and Ethan making coffee though, had me rolling on the floor laughing like an idiot.

Being able to laugh at something so simple gives me a chance to look at everything like they do. For the purpose of comedy.

Life can be quite difficult. Sometimes, most of the time, or maybe even not that often. Whoever you are though, life comes with it's sticky situations.

Being able to find things that make you happy, or laugh, may be hard to come by. As true as this may be there are things everywhere for you to love. One of the most artful things about happiness is how self inflicted it is. Happiness comes from the things you love, the things you find joy in.

Love and joy can be found in the world, even for a dark little rain cloud like me.

happiness
2

About the Creator

Sierra Lynn

Aspiring historian. Fiction enthusiast. Lover of mystery.

Writer of macabre, fantasy realms, and historical ideals.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.