Motivation logo

How Hand Stitching a Nine Patch Quilt Lap Throw Helped Me Find Inner Calm

Work with your hands if you want to find your inner calm.

By Carol SeymourPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
How Hand Stitching a Nine Patch Quilt Lap Throw Helped Me Find Inner Calm
Photo by Dinh Pham on Unsplash

When I was nine years old, I became interested in sewing doll clothes. It all began by cutting out paper dolls and drawing clothes on newspaper to fit them. After a while, I learned how to thread a needle, use a thimble and tie a knot in using a single or double threaded needle.

Being Self-taught

I also learned how to use a pair of scissors to cut out old scraps of material to create my doll clothe. As time progressed, I learned how to mend big girl clothes, sew buttons on blouses and hem dresses.

While learning to create doll clothes and mending my own, a love of working with fabric began to evolve. As I grew and developed, an interest in sewing on a machine and making my own clothes became a dream. While joining a home economics class in the 9th grade, the teacher taught me how to operate a Singer sewing machine. She showed me how to thread the bobbin, thread the sewing machine needle and do all the various zigzag and straight stitches the machine was capable of. As my first project, I sewed an apron.

My teacher also taught me how to make nine even stitches to an inch. It was difficult for me to learn how to sew stitches evenly, but with practice I got the hang of it.

By Annie Spratt on Unsplash

I Stopped Sewing until the Pandemic Hit

As the years rolled by, I stopped sewing (except for sewing a button on something) until 2020 and the pandemic hit. After being laid off from my job teaching middle school kids in March 2020, I found myself being anxious related to the uncertainty of the Covid-19 virus and the rising death toll. Some way I wanted to find peace of mind from all that was happening in the world.

At first, I tried to get lost in Netflix as an escape from the Covid virus. But I was still unable to relax , until one day I thought about sewing something, like a quilted lap throw.

I logged onto Amazon and ordered some precut cotton fabric squares of various designs and solid color prints. It instantly brought back memories of my childhood days making doll clothes.

I got excited and decided to quilt lap throws to give away as gifts. Even though there are hundreds of quilt patterns to choose from---I decided to settle for the simple nine patch square design.

I got an index card and cut it out perfectly to measure a 3 1/2"x 31/2" square to use as my template. I cut most of my squares all at once and then color-coded and arranged my nine patch square. While sitting in my recliner loveseat and drinking a cup of green tea, I began choosing two squares and placing them right sides together, weaving the needle through the fabric with small stitches and pulling the thread through with a little push from my thimble.

I'm careful not to poke myself with the needle nor let the needle slip off the thimble. It's so rewarding to create a perfect shape nine patch square by paying close attention to making sure my stitches are straight.

By Zac Durant on Unsplash

Finding my Inner Calm

By focusing on my handy work, I'm able to find my inner calm. While concentrating on pushing the shiny silver needle through the fabric my mind wanders. I may be thinking about the next story I plan to write or I may listen to my favorite song repeatedly . For the moment, I don't think about Covid nor the new Delta variant that's growing.

I just think "out of sight, out of mind."

While keeping my hands busy, feeling productive, my anxiety seems to subside. I'm able to relax and meditate on my dreams and delight in my inner calm.

Joy comes when I finish the quilted laptop and give it away to someone as a gift. People are usually impressed when I give them a gift I stitched all by hand. And I love hand sewing, especially sewing a simple nine patch quilt throw.

As the summer months come to a close, I will stop hand sewing nine patch lap throws and start crocheting during the winter months. While crocheting, with my lap full of yarn helps keep me warm and cozy and my spirits calm.

Take Away

Using your hands to create quilted lap throws is a good way to find your inner calm while hand stitching using needle and thread. There's something satisfying about pushing the needle in and out of colorful fabrics that create magic to help you forget your troubles for the time being. Hand sewing is a wonderful way to go within and seek your inner calm and find the solution to many of your problems.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Carol Seymour

I'm a content creator, an entrepreneur, RV camper van enthusiast. I write about Productivity, love and Mental Health. I love connecting with like-minded people.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.