Motivation logo

Hi Vocal !

Let's Party in 2024 like it's #200

By Shirley BelkPublished 4 months ago Updated 3 months ago 4 min read
14
dabblesandbabbles.com

I joined Vocal in July 2020. That's when I knew I would soon be retiring and would have extra time. Writing was something I really enjoyed in high school and in college. It was just on the backburner for me while my life took twists and turns. I wish that I had done more journaling in hindsight, but I took mental snapshots of memories along the way. Most of my writing reflects those snapshots. I suppose you could call the 93 stories I see that I have published here, my photo album.

I remember how shocked and surprised I was when one of my first stories got a Top Story status. That was in August of 2020. It is one of my most read stories. And the most liked.

I thought I was going to be a one hit wonder for awhile, though. But my memoirs continued. (Mark Gagnon helped me to identify myself as such, a memoir writer in one of his many helpful comments.) I entered some challenges and most of them were fun for me. Some of them made me feel clumsy and awkward, but I did them anyway.

I will be honest here, there was a time I thought about cancelling my membership. It was about 2 years ago. There was a strict policy of writing about religion or faith. I had a story rejected because I didn't adhere to the standards. I thought Vocal might be the wrong platform for me because I couldn't be myself. I needed to find my community with the freedom to express my thoughts and feelings. It seemed like everyone else had theirs and I thought it biased towards me. I have never pushed my religion/spirituality on others or judged others based on theirs. My story had not reflected that at all. But I stayed, hoping for a change. I still wish there was a community called Faith; one that could be open and respectful, and we could learn about others and their cultures and beliefs. Thank you, Vocal for relaxing those strict policies somewhat now.

During that time, I became more and more interested in the works of other Creators. I started following some of them I really enjoyed and admired. I have over 80 creators that I follow now. It can be difficult to keep up, but so worth the effort. I look forward to reading everyday.

When comments were allowed on our stories/poems, that is when I became "hooked." I don't know what I like more, reading what others wrote, or sending admiration and giving high fives to my new friends. That's what it feels like...friends.

There are open forums and groups that meet weekly where I can learn about stories/poems from Creators that I might have missed and I very much appreciate that input. There is so much talent at Vocal. It's like going to a smorgasbord to taste and enjoy. I love the opportunity to give a shout out to a Creator when I've fallen in love with their work.

I have met Creators from UK, Australia, Sweden, and so many other wonderful places. I couldn't have done this if I hadn't joined Vocal. It means the world to me, literally.

The generational diversity is here, too. We have Boomers, Gen X, Millennials, and Gen Y. Each group brings their own flavor and fun.

Having the richness of the Vocal neighborhood available to me, has been an inspiration to me. I'm very encouraged. And some of my new friends have "prompted" and "tempted" me to challenge myself with daily writing. I feel myself branching out a bit more, while staying in my own lane, though. I recently got a Top Story for a poem I wrote from a Creator's prompt. That's something I never thought would happen. (Thanks Poppy!)

(And thanks to Lamar Wiggins) who was so kind to teach me how to embed links, so my stories would look better and be accessible and professional appearing.

I think of the Interviews, the Book Reviews, and all the ways they have enriched us on Vocal. I hope I've said, "thank you." And I also wish I could afford tips from time to time. They certainly deserve recognition.

Some Creators want to help others by sharing their personal stories of what they have struggled with and are overcoming. I always want to give them a hug for being vulnerable and courageous.

And some Creators bring us joy through humor and music. They bring the sunshine. Blessings to them!

So, what's in store for me in 2024? I wrote a story which involved my family in 1938. And I want to continue to write about my family's history after they incurred such a tragic loss. It will include World War II and what life was like during those years.

What impact do I hope to put forth? Well, life can be difficult, but if my writing helps others to see silver linings or helps them to forgive others or gives them hope, then what more could I ask for???

Vocalgoals
14

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    This just goes to show what a wonderful community Vocal has. This is Lovely.

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    I loved the way you painted your journey here. It seriously reminds me why I’m here and inspires me to want to write something or maybe finish one of the dozen projects sitting in my drafts, lol. Thank you for sharing.💖

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    I love how you have described the Vocal community. I've never thought of it that way, but you're right - we are all ages and all faiths and backgrounds, and it's great 😁

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    Here is to hoping for all the best for your 2024 stories Shirley. Your life reads like a movie which I am watching. Best of luck with the challenge,

  • Wonderful aspirations Shirley. Wishing you a beautiful and successful 2024.

  • Tiffany Gordon 4 months ago

    ❤❤❤❤

  • Gigi Gibson4 months ago

    A well-written story Shirley! I have similar sentiments that I wrote for this challenge as well but mine is still on the “awaiting review” list. For a fact, I, like you, was ready to give up on Vocal. I even got to the point of deleting all of the writers that I had subscribed to. After reflecting on this challenge though, I decided to stay, and you are the first person I have subscribed to since I made that decision. You are a good writer… someone worth reading from. Wishing you a fantastic year!

  • Daphsam4 months ago

    👏👏👏👏

  • Natasha Collazo4 months ago

    A faith category would be lovely, but I think they don’t do it because of debates that easily stem from that topic, sadly, but I don’t see there being any negative spiral happening on vocal because it’s been such a positive place! It’s not like Facebook where people feel they need to let you know their disagreements. I think on vocal people really respect each others boundaries so I’m glad you voiced that ❤️

  • I'm not a religious person as you know, but I too wish that would be a Faith community. I think that would be so wonderful and optimistic! Unless some people start an arguement. I hate when that happens! Anyway, I'm so happy you didn't leave Vocal! So happy to have you here and read your works! 🥰🥰🥰

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    I too feel like I can't keep up!

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    Vocal is an unique place. I like the comments too but I am sometimes overwhelmed by the amount of material on here that I want to read and don't get to. I'm like a literary magpie.

  • Lana V Lynx4 months ago

    Excellent reflections, I feel like I’ve learned so much about you!

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    I hope the journey continues to be great for you!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.