Motivation logo

Hey....2021

It’s me (although we haven’t officially met yet)

By Rae HillPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Hey....2021
Photo by Ibrahim Boran on Unsplash

Hey 2021, it is I. The revolutionary resurrector of resolutions. You may have heard of me from your sister 2020. Her and I know each other all too well. I am crashing into you headfirst on a plane full of hopes and aspirations that I could not muster up the mental capacity to actually complete last year. I am walking through your door refreshed and ready to take on the new world! Tell your sister that I have no hard feelings towards her. Although she took away my job and my sanity. The good news is right before you came along I snuck in through the window and grabbed them back! I was as light as a feather on my feet, you may address me as Muhammed. I have a proposition for you. How about you and I be business partners okay? What are some of your goals?......to stop global warming? Woah there 2021 you have big dreams and I like that about you. Let’s start on a smaller scale and then work our way up to world peace. So what I was thinking was that we can start off by getting rid of Covid. I know it sounds insane but just hear me out. So what we can do is sneak up behind her when she’s not looking and then BOOM! We snatch her up and throw her into a giant vat of hand sanitizer. Then after that I was thinking you could help me to push my online store to new customers. I just need a repost or a share okay? Everybody knows who you are so I’m thinking you can help me out. After that I was hoping you could guide me in writing my children’s book, you know? Send some publishers my way, work your magic, mix the razzle with the dazzle. You know a bit of all the right people. Then in the midst of those things you can be my workout, accountability partner. I can’t hide from you because, well you’re always right there watching me. There’s really nowhere I can go that you won’t be there (you better watch yourself when I use the restroom). Sorry for the mild hostility, it’s this extra-thick cloth mask I’m wearing that your sister gave to me. Anywho, where were we? Ah yes, accountability. If you do that for me, I promise I will push you whenever you give up on global warming. I’m not saying you don’t finish what you start but your family has been trying for years. You could be the one to change everything though, I believe in you. I also want to apologize for barging in with what may seem like a list of requests. You know what I have been through and why I am on your turf harboring a truckload of desperation. We just met but I love you. I don’t want to be too forward in saying that but hear me out. First of all you haven’t said a word this entire time I’ve been talking. No one has ever listened to me the way that you do and I like that. Second, You’re symbolic of a bright future and a new escape from all of the pain that I have carried through 2020. I dropped all of that off at a landfill right before you came along. I knew I couldn’t travel through with it anymore. We deserve a fresh start together.....Wow see, you just let me ramble on and on about whatever I want and you just listen. I don’t date people that I work with but the more we talk the more you’re changing my mind. Anyway, my last request for you as my partner is to take it easy on me. Partners lighten the load, they don’t add to it. Help me to become the best possible version of myself and i promise we can save the rainforest together. Love, Muhammed.

goals
2

About the Creator

Rae Hill

Create. 💜

Curate. 💜

Release. 💜

Repeat. 💜

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.