Motivation logo

Here's to 2022

A brand new me and you

By DMTakeshiPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
2
Photo by Antonio Gabola on Unsplash

This year is going to be different. Instead of always worrying, this year is about relaxing. Normally, my New Year's resolution would involve me stressing obsessively about my New Year's resolution. I'd usually give it up before it even began.

This year I'm going to focus on me, it’s something I don't do very often. I'd like to begin with emphasis on my care, because I think it's time to highlight why it's so important to me.

I struggle with mental health issues. I've struggled my whole life in fact. Ever since I can remember anyway. I've survived traumas and have fought with deep depressions. But, don't get me wrong, I'm extremely tough. Maybe too tough on myself though.

All my life I've been worried about helping others to the point that it destroys myself. I am a definite people pleaser. At the moment, it's now or never. I need to take care of me before it's too late.

I've completely and utterly drained myself. My friends and family all notice the toll it has taken on my mental health. This year is about change. I plan on doing this by just taking it easy. While this may sound like a simple task, it never has been for me.

Now, with COVID spreading like wildfire over the past two years, everyone is struggling, not just myself. We all have experienced trauma in our lives. Every single person. Here is my plan to implement change into my life and I hope it inspires you to do the same.

1. Relax – Again this sounds unchallenging. I will rest by bathing nightly. Taking a bubble bath has always reposed me in the past. I will unwind by staying warm and cozy. Warming up with a good book is one of my favorite ways to slow down. I will buy a good poetry book every month to help with this. I also bought a robe for extra comfort.

What does slowing down mean to me? Well, it’s about that feeling you get when there’s absolute silence. The only sound you can hear is your heartbeat. It’s about remembering that we are human and make mistakes. In order for me to chill out, I will require practice.

2. Have a good support system – I am lucky to have this in my life. The people around me encourage me to do the things I really need in order to take care of myself. This means that they remind me that I am not alone. They remind me that I am worthy. They remind me that I can do this. They keep me grounded in life. They take some of the burden, so life isn’t too overbearing.

A good support system can be anyone. It could be a friend, teacher, co-worker, family member or school mate. Literally anyone. Just make sure they aren’t taking advantage of you or draining you mentally.

3. Music – Music cleanses the soul. It can express your anger, sadness, happiness, or any other feeling you may evoke. It can bring you to a whole new time and place. Feeling our feelings is a lot like music. It is therapeutic and it may just give you a new chance at healing.

Music can be a good way to relax so that is why I am going to listen to more music in 2022. I have a feeling that this can only help. I may even dance like a fool to help me have fun and wear myself out.

4. Accept favors – It is going to be difficult for me, but this one is really important. I rarely feel like I should take help or that I am worthy of a favor. Hearing it in my head now, it sounds so silly. I think accepting favors would be good for me as I am usually the one dishing them out.

5. Sleep – I plan on sleeping like I’ve never slept before. I don’t know about you, but I love my sleep. It helps me to be refreshed and to start anew. There is nothing like some good ol’ zzzz. My plan is to get 8-10 hours of sleep every night. That should tide me over.

*

I’d like to end this with a New Year’s poem about keeping it loose in 2022.

*

My New Year’s resolution

Is to sleep more

Relaxing is my solution

To be at peace with myself and not at war

*

Listen to music

Take bubble baths

Sing acoustic

That’s that

*

So here’s to being mindful of me

Care for myself passionately

Take the help I may need

My supports are on standby and really sweet

*

Dance like I’m a kid having a blast

Make every moment last

Read a book to fly around

With love you will surround

*

So here’s to 2022

And to you being you

happiness
2

About the Creator

DMTakeshi

DMTakeshi has zero credentials and these poems have a high probability that they are the ramblings of a person with a serious mental illness. Enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.