Motivation logo

Hello Hope

Centering Joy In a Time of Uncertainty

By Krista WhitePublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Hello Hope
Photo by Sergey Shmidt on Unsplash

This summer is going to look different than previous summers. Between COVID-19 and the current uprisings for racial justice that span the nation and the world, the idea of celebrating the summer months can feel daunting.

I always try to find joy in everything that I do. This has been a difficult task lately. But as a summer baby, I have a special imperative to make the most of this season. Summer brings me back to the ease of childhood. Although I am knocking on the thirty side of my twenties, when I walk down Riverside Drive on a summer evening I feel transported to my childhood tree-lined street that smells of fresh-cut grass, bug spray, and homemade lemonade made with lemon juice fresh from the bottle. While we can't gather quite the way we did in summers past, here are a few ways I am embracing the spirit of the season.

Using My Voice

By Nick Morrison on Unsplash

The internet has further democratized free speech, giving those who would traditionally have less of an ability to reach a large audience to use their voice for good. During the pandemic I have been writing more than ever, producing posts on my blog every week, putting in pages for my novel, and doing work for publications like Vocal. In addition to writing, another way I'm expressing myself is through my clothing and with my dollar. I am a huge fan of using fashion as both an opportunity for fun, like with some of the masks I bought from Great Lakes Sewing on Etsy. I've found myself coming into my own more than ever before during this difficult time and I don't plan to stop discovering myself anytime soon.

Embracing The Outdoors

By Hector Argüello Canals on Unsplash

I live in New York. We are known for tightly packed theatres, comedy clubs, restaurants, bars, and other businesses that are currently shut down for our safety. While people don't think of New York as a hot spot for outdoor fun, we have 28,000 acres of greenspace and about 27% of our acreage is dedicated to parks. This means that even without the ability to gather in traditional social settings, New Yorkers are blessed with hundreds of beautiful parks to enjoy safely during the time of social distancing. Most days, I go on a walk to Riverside Park or Riverbank State Park, both walking distance from my home. The waterfront is peaceful, and it feels wonderful to see the families and friends having fun together, playing games or enjoying each other's company. I am also planning on having a socially distant picnic for my birthday in a few days. While it's not quite the boozy brunch and night out dancing that I would have originally planned, there's nothing as important as connecting with loved ones for a special day.

Connecting With Loved Ones

By Helena Lopes on Unsplash

One of my saving graces during COVID-19 has been the internet. Thank goodness for video calls. Living far away from most of the people I care about has been challenging to say the least. I treasure the time I've spent almost daily with my dad, checking in from afar on Facetime, the calls and Little Fires Everywhere watch party I had with my mom, the Facebook video dates with my girlfriend, and the frequent Zoom happy hours I've had with friends. While this period has not been easy, and has been a great source of grief and tragedy, it has reminded me how important my friends and family are to me. I plan to never again take for granted the people in my life that love me.

COVID-19 has thrown into stark relief what is most important to us. For me, the answer, loud and clear, has been joy, liberation, and unity. I hold fast onto hope as we move forward as a nation and world, and honestly believe that we will come out better, stronger, and more loving than we had been.

May your summer be filled with sunshine and loved ones. Whether it is through writing a letter to a faraway friend, penning an open letter about a cause I believe in, or spending an afternoon reading in the shade, I will make the best of the gifts that I have at my disposal.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Krista White

Hey y'all! I'm Krista (she/her/hers) and I'm an actor, writer, and amateur cook based in NYC. I write about performance, food, femininity, queerness, and mental health. Twitter and IG: @thekristawhite. Website: aroundtheworldin80plays.com.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.