Motivation logo

Happiness

Sometimes it's Hard to Find, but it's Always There

By Jamie BarberPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

Happiness is a word that doesn't always get appreciated for its full meaning. We all search for happiness, but sometimes it's hard to find. Financial concerns, health difficulties, emotional issues, family squabbles...they all get in the way of our happiness. I believe that the key is to never give up. No matter how difficult it may seem, there's always something that can put a smile on your face.

W​hat made me think about this is that this past year and a half has been one of the toughest times in my life. I was diagnosed with a chronic illness ( Sclerosis) and it has made everything much more challenging. There have been some days when getting out of bed is the biggest challenge I want to face. Sometimes, even facing that can be too much to handle. I've dealt with an inability to walk and stay on my feet. My eyesight has been compromised with double vision, which led to having to wear an eye patch at times (it actually looks pretty cool and I get to feel like a pirate!). I also get to see the looks of pity on the faces of strangers as they see me limping and using a cane. Not a boost to my self-confidence or my feeling of strong masculinity. Staying away from feelings of depression has been difficult, but so necessary. I dealt with depression at a younger age and I do not want to go down that road again. That's why the need to find happiness has been so crucial.

I​m one of the lucky ones in that I have an support system. My family have been there for me every step of the way and I'm so grateful for them being in my life. That's where my mind goes when I need to find something to be happy about. This diagnosis happened during my first year of marriage and trying to be the man my wife fell in love with has been tough. Her support has meant the world to me though. She has had to display such courage and strength and her devotion has blown me away. As I continue to understand my new situation and come to appreciate what I can still do, I have made it my mission to emulate my wife's strength and rise up to this challenge with dignity and determination. My parents, my mother-in-law and my extended family have also been so supportive along the way, and they continue to be to this day. That dignity I mentioned earlier was a little harder to find when I needed my wife and sister-in-law to help me walk up the stairs, but when I thought about it, it made me so thankful they were there to help and that I could count on them.

Drawing happiness from those closest to us is one of the easiest ways to put a smile on your face. Another great one (I've discovered this ) is the support of animals. My wife and I brought two kittens into our home after my diagnosis, and they have been something that has brought us a great deal of joy and support. I remember one day when I fell after trying to put underwear on (sexy, right?) and they came to me as I was crying on the floor. They rubbed my face and offered support the best way they could. This is something I will never forget and made me cherish them even further. I will often go to this memory when I need some feelings of happiness.

T​here are so that can bring us happiness. We've looked at the big ones like loved ones and support systems, but sometimes the little can have a great impact. Sometimes it's listening to your song, watching your movie or TV show, reading a page-turner of a novel or following your sports team. For me, I've used all these to find happiness. The Toronto Raptors winning the NBA championship couldn't have come at a better time for me. After watching them from their infancy, I never thought I'd see the day when they'd reach the top of the NBA mountain! , the incredible moments in life can happen when we least expect them. I will forever be thankful for Kawhi Leonard, Kyle Lowry and the rest of the 2019 Raptors. Their ability to push to that extra gear and win it all brought happiness to me, and so Canadian basketball fans. It can seem rare, but periodically we will have something happen in our lives that's unexpected, but causes us to feel better.

I don't know if you've ever read "The Book of Awesome" by Neil ? He created a wonderful concept for finding happiness. After reading that book, you will see that "awesomeness" is all around us. He helped me see how much happiness can be in everyday items and occurrences. Finding an appreciation for the little can help sustain happiness and make sure that you will find something that makes you happy on a basis.

It doesn't matter what comes your way. You may lose your job, break up with your significant other, see someone you care about hurt themselves, or get diagnosed with a difficult illness. You may feel constantly alone and helpless, or feel like life is against you and that there's no point in continuing the fight. I have had all those happen to me during my life and I've certainly had that helpless feeling and want to end it all. This is when we must search for happiness in all its forms. It's always there. Sometimes we have to look a little harder, but it can be . If you can't find it, please let me know, and we'll search for it together. Peace and Love to everyone who reads this.

happiness
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.