Motivation logo

GoT Ironies (cont.)

Dwarves and Bastards

By LaLa MagnoliagyrlPublished 6 years ago 5 min read
Like
Hanging out in the park. Photo by Rob Bye

First of all, I would like to thank the anonymous tipper on my last story! Whoever you are I truly appreciate it! I enjoy writing. I’m not sure if I’m the best, but I like that someone is reading some of my most inner thoughts and personal actions of my daily life and rewarding me with a tip! So thank you for helping to put a little bit extra towards the caring of my kids.

Now as I stated in the last post, I do want to try and make each post about the little ironies we encounter in life. Additionally, it just so happens the ironies I point out coincide with some ironies that I notice from my favorite tv show, Game of Thrones. And today’s GoT irony deals with dwarves and bastards.

“And you, you’re Ned Stark’s bastard aren’t you? (Jon Snow walks away angrily.) Did I offend you? Sorry. But you are the bastard though.” -Tyrion Lannister

“Lord Eddard Stark is my father.” -Jon Snow

“And Lady stark is not your mother, making you the bastard. Let me give you some advice, bastard. Never forget what you are. The rest of the world will not. Wear it like armor, and it can never be used to hurt you.” -Tyrion Lannister

“What the hell do you know about being a bastard?” -Jon Snow

“All dwarves are bastards in their father’s eyes.” - Tyrion Lannister (Season 1, Episode 1)

For those who are not familiar with Game of Thrones, I personally think one of the biggest ironies that this amazing show starts out with is the meeting between the characters Tyrion Lannister (played by Peter Dinklage) and Jon Snow(played by Kit Harrington). I think aside from the irony of these two specific characters meeting and having this precise conversation about dwarves and bastards (because of who they are), it is important to remember who they are and how they rise from the bottom of the Game, so to speak, to the top by the end of Season 7!

So how do dwarves and bastards from a show relate to my life? The other day I had one of the best days since moving here to our valley in the bowl. Our usual weekend consists of spending all day at the park. We think of games to play, take some time out to eat what little bit we have, watch some movies on my cellphone and walk our dog. It’s nothing fancy but we make the most until my hard work pays off and one day we can finally find an affordable place to call home, other than our current street living situation.

But this day wasn’t our normal routine. Instead, upon arriving at the park, my kids noticed other kids playing with each other laughing and having fun. As we walked by, those kids asked mine to join them in the fun. Before I knew it, the family of the kids (who had all decided to together at the park just because) asked us to join them in celebrating life. We introduced ourselves and were immediately guided to sit down, eat food, have some drinks and enjoy each other’s company. After a few hours had passed, we found ourselves being invited to one of their homes to continue the merriment, which lasted to the very late hours of the night, at which we were asked to stay the night. The kids had bonded and wanted to sleep over, and I had a few too many drinks as well. We woke the next day to have breakfast, watch a little movie and then we headed home.

So what’s so strange about those activities, aside from the fact that a group of complete strangers were able to come together and enjoy each other’s company? In my opinion nothing! I think that is the very meaning of life. It is in our human nature to connect with others. We can’t function properly without doing so. But what if I told you that through getting to know these amazingly kind people, I realized we had spent an entire day with a family that was not ashamed that over half had been locked up at one point in time? And that some of their family members that couldn’t make it called from prison just to hear the beautiful noise of their family getting together? If you’re judging me as to how could I associate with ex cons like that and subject my kids to that as well, then in your eyes, we are the dwarves and bastards in your perfect world.

You see, in a perfect world, misfits like dwarves and bastards just don’t fit. We either don’t look like the other in your world or we may not have as much money. We certainly don’t have the same lifestyle as some are ex cons and others, like myself, are single mothers raising two kids and living on the street. Those lifestyles, simply put, don’t create the sort of “happy” lifestyle that most of us have been raised to look forward to.

But are we really outcasts compared to those that have a bit more lavish and non criminal lifestyle? In my world, those I associate with don’t judge because we don’t believe that your past is what makes you. What makes you is what you do with your life, how you learn and how you can help others. Isn’t that what is also taught to us as children growing up? Treat others the same way that you would want to be treated. While most of us, if not all have been taught that as a child, some grow up to do the exact opposite.

So who does the title dwarves and bastards really fit? In GoT, the dwarves and bastards are those that consider others and try and make the world a better place. It isn’t easy being the outcast in a fantasy world like GoT or in this world, but I’d rather be the outcast that makes the most of the life I have than be the judgmental dwarf or bastard that truly lives an outcast life.

If you life what i have to share or even if you think I need to improve my writing skills, or simply want to say hi please do so! All comments are welcome just as much as a monetary tip! More stories to come and you won’t have to wait as long to read them. I have so many that my goal is to have at least one to two each week.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

LaLa Magnoliagyrl

I am a US Army veteran and a single mother of two. I learn the most from teaching my kids about how to be a humble and caring man and woman in tomorrow's society. In order to make a wonderful life, it's best to face the music head-on.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.