Motivation logo

Goals for 2024

My Vocal Resolution for this year!

By Ted RyanPublished 3 months ago 4 min read
5
Goals for 2024
Photo by Tech Daily on Unsplash

January is an interesting time, it marks the beginning of a new year and with that, we all make resolutions for ourselves. Sometimes we complete them, other times we don’t for a variety of reasons.

Looking back on my time as a writer on Vocal Media, its latest challenge has allowed me to look back on all the stories I’ve written and what I want my 2024 to look like as a Vocal Creator.

Since 2020, my page has been dedicated to pop culture, reviews and critical analysis of literature, movies, tv shows and audiobooks. I want this to continue to be that space for my readers, but in honour of this year, I have four specific topics I want to revive on my page.

So without further ado, here are my four New Year’s resolutions for Vocal Media.

On Writing Series

One of my first series that grew my audience on this platform was the On Writing articles I published which focused on character archetypes that worked or didn’t work in certain stories.

That analytical approach to characters I either loved or loathed and applying critical thinking to how they were written gave readers a much more detailed understanding of topics that I was truly passionate about.

From the Bad Boys, Evil Mothers and the Quirky Heroines, these were just a few character traits I reviewed for Vocal Media and there are so many characters and stories that I would like to explore further in new articles this year.

Are there any characters or franchises you’d recommend being the next topic of discussion? Make sure to include your suggestions in the comments at the end of the article!

By Erik Mclean on Unsplash

Page to Screen Reviews/Adaptation Comparison

I had initially planned for this to be a new series in 2023 after writing my comparison review of The Flatshare as a novel and a limited series tv adaptation. However, that series took a bit of a backseat as that was the year I published my debut novel and I was also writing sequel.

However, I think this year will be the year to bring that series to Vocal Media. Some articles I had previously planned to write were for the page to screen adaptations of New Moon, Behind Her Eyes, Heartstoppers and Interview with the Vampire.

These are still possible reviews that I will share here, but I think it’s safe to say there are many books and adaptations that have come out I’d like to compare and review which medium that particular story works for.

By Blaz Photo on Unsplash

Interviews with Creatives

When I became a Vocal Plus Creator, I never thought I’d be interviewing authors, actors and showrunners. However, these have proven to be some of the most rewarding articles I’ve written for this site.

From the cast and crew of V.C. Andrews adaptations on Lifetime, to actors from award winning films and traditional or self-published authors, I’ve had the pleasure of hearing their incredible stories and gain insights into their creative processes.

This is an aspect of my writing for Vocal I’d like to see flourish more on my page this year. So expect more talkies from the arts this year!

By Jon Tyson on Unsplash

Reviews, reviews and more reviews!

Despite this being pretty self-explanatory, I want to continue with my reviews on this channel. This is an interesting year for upcoming shows, movies and staged productions — which is going to motivate me to get in the cinema, complete my tv watchlist and experience the thrill of a live performance on stage.

My last resolution will be to post more reviews that will range from book, screen and audio stories. I will be posting my review of Saltburn and V.C. Andrews: Dawn series in the next few weeks. So expect more of my praises and rants for the upcoming year.

By Markus Winkler on Unsplash

In December, I will be writing a sequel to this article and update you all on how I did with these resolutions. Stay tuned!

Here’s your chance to contribute to the Reviews, On Writing or Page to Screen series. Any characters or stories you think deserve to be included or criticed in any of these articles, let me know in the comments and you’ll get a shout-out in that article if it’s chosen for any of my upcoming articles.

Vocalgoals
5

About the Creator

Ted Ryan

When I’m not reviewing or analysing pop culture, I’m writing stories of my own.

Reviewer/Screenwriter socials: Twitter.

Author socials: You can find me on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, TikTok and Goodreads as T.J. Ryan.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer2 months ago

    This one got a sub from me 😁

  • Sandra Tena Cole3 months ago

    Fantastic! Best of luck with all of these! I'll look forward to your reviews!

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Imterviewing authors, actors, and showrunners sounds cool!!! Fantastic goals for 2024!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Grz Colm3 months ago

    Excellent goals Ted. Well done. I like that you are and have been doing the archetype series.. I’ve not read any of these as yet, but that sounds great. Good luck! ☺️👍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.