Motivation logo

Getting to know music artist HBK Boogey

Getting to know music artist HBK Boogey

By Jason James Published about a year ago 3 min read
Like

What’s your artist name and where are you from?

My name is HBK Boogey, I’m from the south side of Waco Texas but I moved to San Antonio in 2019 to pursue a rap career and make more bread. There was never many career paths in Waco and it’s a smaller City so I never wanted to stay there for long. The woods is too big to settle for a small city like that.

Why do you love music?

You probably hear this a lot but music genuinely saved my life. It’s artist like Kendrick Lamar, Jcole, even gunna that made music that literally inspired me to do better in life. As a kid and mainly in my early adult years I suffered from a lot of mental illnesses. Even before I started making music at the age of 20 I always felt a spiritual connection towards the music I listen to. From rockbands like Arctic Monkeys, Three days grace and System of a Down to rap artist like 50 Cent, lil Uzi and Kendrick.

What makes you different as a music artist?

I genuinely believe I’m the most versatile artist alive or at least in Texas. A lot of artist say this but my proof is on wax. There isn’t too many artist that can make r&b music like Same Girl, space melodic tracks like wicked, lyrical songs like The Celebrity and even new school hyperpop tracks like Okay Let’s Go.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years? Releasing my 4th studio album. I usually don’t like to try to predict my own future cause it’s all up to god where I’d be a couple years from now but I’m doing my part to make sure I’m successful at the very least. A lot of people don’t understand how difficult it is being an independent artist. This is an expensive goal. Last year I spent over $10k promoting my music and my fanbase is still small.

What do you want to accomplish in life?

Honesty acting was my first passion before music. My dad was a dreamer so he used to always have some “make it out the hood” project going on and I would always try to be apart of his films. Unfortunately a lot of that stuff never took us anywhere but that’s when I fell in love with acting for a while. Of course music is going to always be my first passion but hopefully down the road I get to show the world how multitalented I am. I plan on starting a couple podcast as well. I love music more than I love making it so before I even started rapping I wanted to be one of those YouTube channels that interviews artist and upload music related content.

What do you bring to the music world?

I believe I bring versatility to the table. A lot of artist may have a unique style for the time being but many of these guys become stagnant and complacent. Refusing to change their style which could be a good or a bad thing depending on what you like as a consumer. Me however, it’s extremely difficult to keep a similar style for multiple songs. My fans NEVER have to worry about me sounding the same. It’s a blessing and a curse because I’m still trying to grow my fanbase and it’s difficult because some might like my melodies but others prefer my lyricism. I just need to attract consumers similar to myself. I’m a genuine fan of all styles of music.

What do you want to be remembered by?

Although I have a love/hate relationship with my city I do strive to be the biggest artist to come out of Waco. Growing up In Waco wasn’t easy at all. So I put that sh*t on my back! I’m blessed that I made it out in 2019 but that place will forever be my home.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.