Motivation logo

Meet music artist Elijah "LX" Harvey

Meet music artist Elijah "LX" Harvey

By Jason James Published about a year ago 3 min read
Like

What’s your artist name and where are you from?

I am Elijah "LX" Harvey and I am from the DMV area, that’s DC, MD and VA, for those who aren’t hip lol. I would say I am also a composer, multi-instrumentalist and producer. I play Keys, Guitar, Bass, Drums, and a little Trumpet and Sax.

Why do you love music?

Music is life. No like, literally, it matters so much in everything and every way. It changes lives both for a creator and a listener. A lot of products wouldn't be sold without a catchy jingle, a lot of shows wouldn't be watched without a theme song that draws you in. A lot of venues would just be places to be if it wasn't for music and we all know the DJ is the one who brings the crowd. You wouldn't cry in a movie if that scene was just folley and audio... It gets deep, worship, healing..I could go on. Simply put, it is the vessel and control of emotion that can reach people that plain words cannot.

What makes you different as a music artist?

I can play/songwrite/perform any genre. I really don't have a box that I'm in. Labels and management have tried but that's not really where I am. Money talks but being genuine and who you are will get you where you need to be more so. I've gotten in rooms without a hit single, because I can offer more than being on stage. I can produce and write for other artists and I have. I exist to serve any musical needs to the best of my ability. I've set up shows with larger artists to build that network, I'm wired as a creative but I move administratively. I also produce music for the NBA, Washington Wizards, (shot out my sis DJ Heat!)

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Living very comfortably with my family doing what I love. Being a household name in music, film, compositions.. producing music for more sports teams and films. Really, being the one that the industry knows and comes to for life changing productions. Being a music supervisor for major films and projects.

What do you want to accomplish in life?

I think I'm already there. I'm happy and doing what I love. I think I've stopped itemizing accomplishments when (to me) there is no unit of measurement. As long as you wake up, try and do your best, everything else will be what it will be. Knowing that and finding that peace, I seek nothing else.

What do you bring to the music world?

I bring edgy sounds and left field production that can be considered "not typical" but it offers a different perspective. I am known for blending genres. Call me the Genre Bender!

I bring the vulnerability to show folks you can be yourself and create as you see fit! If we’re talking locally, I’ve also been on the music scene in the DC area since it’s youth. I’ve contributed connections, counseling and production to a lot of the large artists from this area to this day. Won’t drop names, but the industry knows.

What do you want to be remembered by?

Inspiring people to try their best and not be intimidated by their environments.

You only live once. Do everything. I've picked up every instrument I could afford knowing nothing and minimal teaching outside of peers who give me tips. I embrace knowing nothing and learning. I want people to be ok with not being the best or good at first. I want people to focus on their goals to get there and not worry about how they are seen.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.