Motivation logo

Get to know ERoxk

Get to know ERoxk

By anthony rhynePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

What’s your artist name and where are you from?

My name is ERoxk and I’m from MA. I’m a producer/artist who has lived in MA my whole life.

Why do you love music?

I fell in love with music at a very young age. First when I was around seven when I was introduced to rap music via a CD that my mom had gotten from her friend. It was a mix full of songs by 50, Justin Timberlake, Nelly, and more. From there, I got into the NOW music CDs, and that was when I discovered and fell in love with Lil Wayne, Eminem and Akon music, among many others. From there, technology has allowed me to curate my own preferences and that’s exactly what I have done. From Drake in the early 2010s (who is still someone who inspires me most today), through the emergence of Travis, Carti, X, Juice, Pierre Bourne… I feel like I grew up with these artists in a way because through these last 5-10 years, these are some people I have listened to the most and have taken inspiration from the most when creating music myself. I still have my Uzi and Metro posters in my room at home hanging above my desk and laptop.

What makes you different as a music artist?

I think what makes me different is that I’m not scared to push boundaries, whether it’s experimental beats, challenging my vocal range, and sort of doing whatever I feel like doing when I sit down to work. I don’t let current trends dictate what I make because I make whatever I sit down and make. Yes, I can think long and hard about a specific type of sound and aim for that but at the end of the day, it’s all a natural process. Also, that I take more pride in being a producer and solely do the artist thing for fun, really. It’s always been cool to me, the artist side of things, and I figure if I have the equipment and the ability to make music, then why not?

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Ideally, comfortably living off somewhere with more progress on my life made than today. I don’t like using the word “goal” when describing progress, or to have a “target” on what amount of money I would like to make, mainly because it puts a cap on your own expectations. If you tell yourself that you want to do something and then don’t do it, it sort of gives you the same feeling as actually doing it, so in the end, you don’t ever end up really feeling that bad about it once some time goes by. In that amount of time, it’s inevitable for me to be better than I am right now, maybe even at the top of my game.

What do you want to accomplish in life?

I truly just want this music thing to work out. In whichever way it possibly can, I just want it to work. There aren’t many other options for me. I have my degree with multiple minors and concentrations but that doesn’t mean that using all that stuff is a realistic goal of mine. I’ve been making music since way before I went to college. I just want to accomplish security, stability and a little bit of financial success and I’ll be alright.

What do you bring to the music world?

I bring a very different perspective on music, as well as a dynamic range of ability to make whatever people want to hear. I make all types of music for all types of audiences, so I guess in a way once it pops off for real, then I will be great at bringing people together.

What do you want to be remembered by? I mean, we’re all going to die eventually so I just want to be remembered by the fact that I went out and didn’t live a life filled with regret. I could be done with music in 6 years, I could keep music as a huge part of my long and exciting life, or someone could run a red light next week and T-bone my car, killing me. Who really knows? I damn sure would rather be remembered by who I am as a person and for my music than someone who wasn’t able to put it all together, I’ll tell you that much. Stream Pain Is Progress 3.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.