Motivation logo

G.R.O.W.T.H

Gaining Riches Off Walking Through Hell

By Les GervaisPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

I want to start this off by saying that I am by no means perfect, nor am I super successful. I am, however, very optimistic. Now yes, I've had my moments of doubt like everyone has, and I have dealt with depression that did leave me crippled mentally, but somehow I managed to bounce back numerous times in ways I thought impossible. In my opinion, the universe is a funny place. I'm no expert when it comes to galactic beams of energy that somehow manipulate our decisions—not to say that the existence of such energy is questionable—but let us pretend for the time being that it does exist. If it is true, then what we give out to the universe will be paid back to us in one form or another, correct? Sort of like how we view good and bad karma. Well, personally, GOOD karma would be great for me right now because I need a Christmas miracle haha. BUT, in all seriousness, I'm in a slump, maybe even like many of you are. My money is stretched thin, my bills aren't paid, eviction notices every month, and yet I make just under 60k yearly in income, which isn't even considered middle class anymore in my opinion. I'm 27 years old, a high school drop out with a criminal record. In all fairness I did all these things to myself. Fortunately, with the help of self reflection, we can be taught many things about how we totally F'd up and should have made better choices. Although it's too late to change those particular things now, it is, in fact, beneficial to try to unlearn past behaviours in order to succeed further in life, or like right now. Do it. Haha.

If you made it this far into my babble then you may be wondering what's the point of this long-ass write up? Well the answer is this. I love to see people grow. My personal favourite way of putting it is “Levelling Up in life.” I know I have lots to improve in my life, but it gives me inspiration when I see people excel in their lives, especially when they pursue something they are passionate about. NOW let me take a step back and go directly to my situation. I'm 27 right, I have a lot of debt, I have a child whom I pay support for, ongoing custody issues, I hate my dead end job, I have a passion for music, I make music, and I'm currently trying to depart from my job to go to school in hopes of “Levelling up” my life. I'm currently working on getting my smarts up so I can pass the maturity test for the school enrollment application, and in honesty I'm basically doing all this stuff amidst my chaotic life of mental stress and also while writing this, I might add. Now although I've mentioned my responsibilities and hurdles, I also have many positive things in my life. Like for instance, my son. He brightens up my life and helps fuel my want to be successful. It also helps that I'm driven by wanting to be a better father to him than my dad was to me. I am lucky enough that my girlfriend encourages me to chase my dreams and goals. She too has goals and dreams she wants to reach. I encourage her to take risks as well as she does with me. So I'm blessed in respects to my girl, the inner circle of friends that support me, my loving family, and the fans!! Hopefully you have a decent circle of support to fuel your ambitions as well, and if you don't, you should get one because it's key! For me, my goal first and foremost is to be successful, no matter what that entails. I'm sick and tired of not feeling fulfillment within my current job, especially since it's not where my heart is. You know this makes me think of sayings like, “you can take the dog out of the fight but not the fight out of the dog" and, in a sense, I am fighting to be happy and successful in something I love. I am a firm believer that the school system and full-time employment is geared to crushing our spirits, detouring us from perusing our dreams and turning us into yes men. Well unfortunately for all those suckassers out there, I've run out of mints, but what I do have is a big F you straight from the anti-establishment HQ, but I won't get into that, LOL. Here's an “I” statement for you. "I want to see everyone succeed because I want to succeed." Sh*t! Me just writing this makes me feel better about my situation. Maybe if you are reading this, you will be inspired by my drive to accomplish my goals enough to want to try to pursue yours.

Now I'd like to take a moment and shed light on the title of this write up of mine: "Gaining Riches Off Walking Through Hell." Pretty self explanatory, isn't it? But if it isn't, I'll break it down some. It means learning from your past, capitalizing on your pain, failure, and turning it into a key that unlocks all the doors in front of you. In other words, walking through hell in order to reap the benefits of heaven.

I should probably end this here for now because I have much to do with regards to getting my application filed for school. Maybe I'll do an updated write-up once I'm in sorta like a progressive timeline. I truly hope you've taken away some sort of inspiration from this because I'm trying to do something most people are scared to do. “Take a risk.” I have until May to get into school. Time to grind and shine.

Side note: attached to this is a music video I did a couple years back. It speaks on the struggles of someone in a depressed state of mind trying to find a way out.

I hope you stay blessed.

Never let someone dictate your future when you have a goal in your mind.

Keep Grinding.

Les.

Google Me : Les Kraven/Les Gervais. Follow me everywhere! SUBSCRIBE!!

goals
Like

About the Creator

Les Gervais

Creativity is the elixer of life...care to indulge with me?

I am a Canadian recording artist Google me : Les Kraven

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.