Motivation logo

Fun to Bring in 2021

New Year's Eve Ideas in Quarantine

By Nicole "ChaseThePen" SanchezPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
Photo Courtesy of Souley's Kpop Shop and Blog (https://www.linktr.ee/SouleysKpopShop?fbclid=IwAR2P5NQtT5RTe6Okn_cb4yTA-j6zprxRYstMAR7nlFd89RGbgaK4a4MzlTY)

Now, I know that the arbitrary tick of the clock that will change 2020 to 2021 will not solve all our problems. The emotional and financial devastation will have a lasting impact, but this can still be a cause for celebration. I don't know a single person who isn't ready to put 2020 behind them, so why not send it out doing something you love?

Last year I spent New Years Eve bar hopping and finished up with a Salt n Pepa concert. This year will certainly be nothing like that, but I'm determined to have fun. So, here are some ideas that I hope you'll find useful and fun.

Music

Besides the obvious, live music is the single thing I miss the most about the current state of the world. In addition to my woes, these artists are some of the people hardest hit by the financial side of the pandemic. Sure, you could tune in to watch Ryan Seacrest as he hosts various high profile celebrities, or you could check out some local venues’ live streams.

I’m planning on checking out the Chayz Lounge’s Jazzy Soul New Year’s Eve Virtual Party featuring H. Wade Johnson and Pride Ensemble. They will have in person viewing, and the tables do look spread out nicely, but personally, I’m not risking that. I’ll tune in virtually and pour my own cocktails. Plus, the only people to judge my dance moves will be my loved ones.

Signature Cocktails

Though I miss the ease of a bartender preparing my drink, you know what I don’t miss? Long lines. Skip the line with some ease to make New Year’s Eve cocktails. Mimosas are an easy option. Orange juice and champagne, boom, deliciousness. Orange juice not your thing? Substitute apple cider or pineapple. You can finish them with a sugar rim and the appropriate fruit. Personally, I’m going to go with apple cider. I just didn’t get enough this fall.

Then there are some straight up sugar sips of deliciousness like adult hot chocolate. Be sure to add plenty of whipped cream and sprinkles. While apple cider mimosa will bring in the New Year, I’m also planning sipping buttery nipples (butterscotch and cream liqueurs) for the rest of the evening.

Ready to take it to the next level. I found this Shimmery NYE Cocktail on A Tipsy Giraffe’s page that require a bit more prep, but I think it will be worth the effort.

Pajama Party/Movie Marathon

Sure, you could dress up and pretend you’re going out, but that’s not for everyone. Another option is a pajama party and movie marathon. Get the whole family to break out their onesies and turn the TV area into a pillow or blanket fort. Watch your favorite movies and usher in the new year in comfort.

Games

Board games, card games, video games, there are countless options available. Throw on those pjs and play to your heart’s content. Remember, there are games out there for all different group sizes and play styles, including competitive and cooperative games. Stop by your local game store to pick up a new one for just such an occasion.

Plus, who says you just have to pick one option? Let the winner of the game pick the movie!

Don’t skimp on the food

Finger foods are the way to go for this kind of evening. It will let everyone eat at their own pace while enjoying other activities. Plus, with all the holidays that we have stacked up so closely, something light may be in order. I’m planning on making some yummy baba ghanoush and taco dip (I do love dippables). I haven’t decided on all of my desserts, but I’ll probably make some margarita cupcakes (double points for booziness) and some kind of cookie. Did I say something light? Well, maybe next week...

Virtual friends

Concert on one screen and friends on another. We’re separated from many of our friends not just by the pandemic, but by distance as well. I’m hoping to ring in the New Year with some toasts and well wishes from missed friends. If you have a big friend group, just get everyone to join in and it can be one big virtual house party. Toast with your favorite toasting beverage and bring in the New Year with happy thoughts.

Speaking of Happy Thoughts...

Write a list of things you hope for in 2021. We're all hoping for better with the coming year, enumerating those hopes can help bring them to fruition. They don’t have to be grandiose, but they can be. Big or small, hopes are important.

Divination

Well, not really. If you want to break out the tea leaves for this activity, I won’t stop you, but they’re not necessary. Write down a list of predictions for the year to come. They can be silly or serious. The point is to have fun, so maybe more silly than serious....

Though my list is not exhaustive, I hope it helps you have a better New Year’s Eve. My hope is to return to normalcy next year, but in the meantime, we do what we can to make life a little better.

Happy Early New Year! Don’t forget to check out the chainmaille shop while you’re here.

happiness
2

About the Creator

Nicole "ChaseThePen" Sanchez

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.