Motivation logo

Free

What freedom means to me.

By Isis Lyons Published 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Free
Photo by Johann Siemens on Unsplash

For a long time I didn't feel free in my own skin, I felt like I had to be someone specific to be great; I thought I had to be exactly like Jesus to make my mother proud. I used to struggle with talking about my emotions and feelings, I would force myself not to cry because I used to believe that it was a sign of weakness. I always used to be goofy and funny so I could hide the pain of feeling alone. I felt like I was a bird stuck in a cage and I could not get out until someone said I could. When I would be alone in my room, I would cry myself a river; my cries were so silent that I couldn't even hear them. Everyday of my life I would feel like I was nothing; I felt so unworthy, pointless, and lost. I had friends that matched my sadness, I had a boyfriend who was extremely aggressive and my life was hard. All of my life I always wanted to be there for others, but I would never let anyone comfort me. What can I say I was selfless, independent, and depressed. I mean, extremely sad to the point where I hated myself, I hated to look at myself, I hated to breathe; I simply didn't want to be alive. There were a lot of unhealed traumas that I had around the time, so all the experiences I was going through were expected. All the physical abuse I took, all of the mental abuse I took was all to make me stronger, It was all to make me better than I already was.

Freedom is when you can finally live without fear, freedom is loving yourself and everything around you unconditionally, and freedom is knowing your worth no matter what anyone else says to you. Sometimes we as humans feel so small, we feel like we are just another filled space in this world, but we are not. We are the magic of this world, we are the power, and we can get through anything if we try. Freedom is laughing when you want to laugh, freedom is dancing when you want to dance, freedom is smiling no matter what anyone tells you. If someone is trying to tear you down it only means you intimidate them, If you’re tearing yourself down it means you let someone get the best of you, so don’t. Let go of the hurtful words, let go of the people who don’t love you for you. We all deserve love in the best way possible, we deserve to feel encouraged and happy.

The universe could look really intimidating from where you’re standing, everything could look like a lot to take on but I promise you it’s not. You have to take one step at a time, believe in yourself because that’s the only way you’ll succeed. I believe we all are the universe; we all are a part of mother nature. I believe we’re connected to our reality and we can control what happens, you just have to have faith; don’t be afraid because there’s nothing to be scared of. Love and light is always surrounding you, you just have to pay attention to it. Don’t let your family or friends make you feel like your goals and wants aren’t worth it. If it’s worth it to you then it's worth it. Each and every human is a main character to their own story, if you put your heart into something anything and everything could go amazingly. Continue to put your heart into the positive things in life and I promise something will go right.

happiness
2

About the Creator

Isis Lyons

I am extremely passionate about all things writing. If you enjoy any of my stories please stay tuned and subscribe. I would really appreciate it.

Instagram; @isisthepoeticgod

@_isisthewriter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.