Motivation logo

Following Curiosities:

A Multipotentialite's Guide to Surviving Inspiration

By Joanna ScottPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Following Curiosities:
Photo by Ashim D’Silva on Unsplash

One of the best (and worst) feelings in the world is a flash of inspiration to create something, but not having the right tools on hand for the job.

As a multipotentialite, I'm blessed with a very active curiosity for learning. In my craft life, it requires being always at the ready for whatever project I might take on next. Sewing: Check. Papercraft: Check. Painting: Check. Woodworking: Check. Cooking: Check. Bookbinding: Check. I think you might be seeing the pattern...

Having some essentials on hand and building a small tool kit for wherever my curiosities might take me saves me a world of frustration and time. While every tool kit varies, there are a few common threads among them. I'm going to share my top five from over the years.

1. Scissors

By Margaret Jaszowska on Unsplash

Too often I've found that people don't think terribly hard about such an essential craft item. It can even get a little overwhelming with all of the options and choices out there. While a cheap pair of scissors can "do the job", taking the time to do a little research and investing in the right tool for your project absolutely improves your outcome. I suggest investing in good pairs of paper scissors, fabric scissors (I would include rotary cutters in this category too), pinking shears or tailor's shears, embroidery scissors, kitchen scissors, and heavy-duty wire cutters. Maybe it is my former Girl Scout sensibilities, but the saying "Always Be Prepared" really has helped me take action on my ideas over the years.

2. Craft/Hobby Knives

Courtesy of Fiskars.com

I really came to love having a variety of crafting knives on hand when I was studying Graphic Design. I had an amazing teacher who encouraged us to study the "old ways" before diving into digital design work. My hobby knives have earned their place among my craft supply royalty. My biggest encouragements when looking at your options are how the tools work while using them, their multifunctionality, and always make sure that you have plenty of fresh replacement blades on hand.

3. Self-Healing Cutting Mat

Courtesy of Fiskars.com

My cutting mat is my unsung hero. The abuse it has survived - cosplay, bookbinding, paper crafting, felting, leatherworking - the list just keeps getting longer. Investing in a high-quality cutting mat saves your surfaces and is a perfect complement to the first two items on my essentials list.

4. Rulers/Measuring Tape

By patricia serna on Unsplash

I don't just keep an extra ruler or two around, I usually have a retractable soft measuring tape with me at all times. Some of my greatest crafting joys include costuming and cosplay - correct measurements are 70% of most projects. If I'm honest, most crafting heavily relies on measuring three times and cutting once. As all crafters know - make the most out of your materials <3

5. Imagination

Credit to David Lynch, David Bowie - From Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me 1992

This may be listed as number five on the list but it is the core essence of all that we do as creatives. Most of you out there are probably saying, "No Duh," in regard to this. In the age of YouTube, Pinterest, Instagram, Tutorials, etc - we can sometimes forget to just have fun and think outside the box. Don't let what has been done dissuade you from trying something different or new - you never know how much you might enjoy the process. Give yourself permission to play. Take the time to let your imagination roam and find inspiration in the world around you and within you. Our imagination is one of the best tools to fuel our joy and our passions.

Credit Joanna Scott - A Sample of my Graphic Transfer on Tile - hand-cut and painted

I know I am exceptionally fortunate that I was encouraged to investigate and dive into any project that gained my attention over the years. I find so much happiness in building and creating. Making the world a little more colorful, bringing joy to those I love, enjoying the journey of creation, and constantly learning something new all bring satisfaction to my ever-curious mind and soul.

Happiness, in my opinion, is a choice. We all have the capacity to choose happiness and to spread joy - and I love that all of my crafts give me the gift of both. I am hopeful that because of this, I will be able to exit corporate work and build something of my own to share with the world.

Credit Joanna Scott - A Sample of my Crochet work

how to
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.