Motivation logo

Follow Me On A Journey Of Hope

The Depths Of Loss,Homelessness And Mental Health

By Cathy DeslippePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Follow Me On A Journey Of Hope
Photo by Clay LeConey on Unsplash

Someones son, husband, father who once worked at a hard job. A few items that belong to him especially to his heart. His world once ,like many in our city was certainly not moving place to place. Looking for a meal here or there at the churches or the hospices. No possibly a loss of employment, or trauma and than for many who suffer mental illness took the best of him.

Tents are set up or what looks like tents along the river. Many without shelter , tend to settle here to bathe or drink from the river.

Not being able to settle there long, the police move them out to wander to who knows where.

My Mission And I Hope You Can Follow Me

What happened to the group homes for the mentally ill. Even if they stopped in for medicine and a bath or dinner. What happened to the serious cost of living in our city? A single parent can barely pay rent, put food on the table and be able to give their child the needs they deserve.

My mission as a person, just like you is to continue to fight, stand up and write letters after letters to help the less fortunate.

Continually I write, the mayor the municipality, the province right to the top. I won’t stop. The amount of sweet young children are living on the streets ,prostitution has become their way to survive. Gradually the drugs become a really big issue, masking their pain and than so many overdoses.

Our own hospital is not even equipped to help. Since COVID, the ICU has been full of patients with the illness that there has been no room ,to help save the lives of the mentally ill.

Acts Of Kindness And Hope

A wonderful group that go above and beyond to help others. Bags of toiletries, socks, small tokens dropped off to those in need. You see these bags all over the city given. Right now they are low in toothpaste and toothbrushes. I do my part but I do it at a distance. I am not doing it to be praised,I do it because I really care.

Clothing especially in the winter from coats, hats and mittens and scarfs hang from the trees. Is this enough, not the way I look at it.

By Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

When you see those less fortunate, think that could be you or a loved one and friend. It’s not how they got this way. It’s what can we do to make our city our place called home a better place for them and others live.

I will continue to write, daily if I have to. I will start sending letters to the Mental Health association and above. I find the love in my heart and many others can start by dropping off water , maybe a sandwich. The phrase of they just soak the system is not the case. They have no coping skills, only to survive the best they can. To stay warm, to cool off.

The addictions, the crimes including guns and serious violence is another issue. The city police are doing their best but it keeps getting so out of control. Drug houses are all over, homes are being destroyed with the depths of the sadness. Worse yet, little children are caught up in the middle of all of this.

My Passion Is To Help

Follow me on my journey, it doesn’t cost much. Reach out to the centre’s that can guide you to do what you can. For all the wealth in the world, does one not feel bad to see what is happening around them

Is greed their passion. Do they know how much more they could do?

I will continue ,tonight with my wonderful gift of writing , I have a list of needs being sent to all of the government. Simple things you no longer need can be given to the Salavation Army, to dress those who want to work. There are programs in the city to help re-educate and put them in the employment world, to give them the hope of a home, there home.

The food bank is always in need. Many of the wonderful grocery stores take extra food donated from customers to help. Since COVID, so many have lost their jobs, the food bank is used more than it ever has. Even the volume of food has become less.

By Aaron Doucett on Unsplash

We have passions we enjoy to help us relax, to sit back and refocus and rethink. Those are precious. Not to many have that opportunity.

My passion, my goal is to have even “one” individual listen to me and many others ,and do something to help make a difference in our city.

Hoping with this being said and you read this ,you can make it your passion to make a difference in someone’s life. They didn’t ask to be like this? I know I will be helping, how about you?

By Hannah Busing on Unsplash

We can do it together, you and I.

Giving to one another, helping them to survive.

We know how to love, we know how to care.

From the depths of giving, we know how to share,

Make it our passion ,

to make a start.

Reach down, look around, share your love from your heart.

Sing along with me, in harmony.

You and I. ❤️❤️❤️

how to
1

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.