Motivation logo

Flirty Thirty: a Bourgeois Experience

The Perfect Pairing

By M'chelle NicolePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Cheers to another decade around the sun

It all began with an idea. Since I'm not the type to celebrate my own birth in a major way, I wanted to do something memorable for my third decade of life. Despite going all out for my friends and family for their respective birthday plans, I only have a small brunch by myself at Cheesecake Factory every year and then buy my annual Godiva strawberries and truffles. That's it. I cannot tell you the exact reason why I treat others’ celebrations better than my own, because I'm not sure. My 2015 New Year's resolution was to treat myself better, so I decided to start with my birthday. I had recently watched the remake of The Great Gatsby and it inspired me to do something similar for my birthday. Of course, nothing on that level of partying is my style but I desired something formal that people can dress up to attend - you know, baby steps. Therefore, my theme was the "Bourgeois Experience - Michelle's Flirty 30". The plan was simplicity yet elegance. In typical Michelle-form, I began my research. I contacted eight restaurants with a set of questions and started my research there. Most of them shot out a price quote without even answering my questions. All of them had a general party template that was massive (like 200-1000 guest massive). That's way too much for me especially when I'm used to celebrating alone. So, I scraped all that research and started over from scratch with a better idea of what I wanted to do.

Research: The tasting

I sketched a rough plan then contacted Eddie V's Dallas for details. The assistant manager was kind of vague, so I agreed to come to the restaurant for a meeting [she couldn’t attend]. When I got there, the manager on duty, Michael, was so kind and informative (explained everything I tasted) that I booked my birthday there immediately. He and the bartender made my tasting an unforgettable experience (including the help of another lady customer who showed me the “correct” way to eat oysters and paid for them since it was for my birthday). Oysters and Champaign are the perfect pairing! The texture of the oysters mixed with the bubbles of Champaign created an euphoric sensation in my mouth. It’s one those pairings that make you feel like royalty having a tasty treat. At 30, I’ve never tried oysters before, so this experience was beyond unique. An unforgettable combination that will become a regular birthday tradition. Afterwards, I left the restaurant so excited about what was to come.

The Experience: Getting Ready

I picked my outfit based on my Foot Candy. It was definitely a challenge, because after falling in love with the shoes, I realized it would be difficult to match. Yikes! My outfit was just okay, but my shoes made me feel like a celebrity. Why are my shoes so important to me? Let me explain.

Foot Candy: Yes, I know it's not edible, but I love it just the same. Why "foot candy"? I call it this because shoes are the perfect finishing touch to your ensemble and can make or break your outfit - the dessert or candy of apparel. Over the years, my shoes have become my trademark - especially in undergrad.

However, no one has ever thought to ask me why you can always find me wearing stilettos or heels.

The Confession: In 2002, while trying out for the ACA All-star cheerleading team, I tore my ACL in the middle of a tumbling pass. After a year of being careful but never quitting cheerleading, I had knee surgery in Phoenix, AZ. During my knee rehab, the doctor gave me a list of things that I “could not” do anymore. I called it the List of Cant’s. I don’t take well to being told I can’t do something if I believe that I’m able; I’ll take it as a challenge (I’ve always been this way). To prove him wrong (after being cleared of the crutches), I decided I would go a whole year wearing nothing but stilettos/heels and accomplishing everything on that List of Cant’s while wearing them (cue in: tumbling in heels during several 2007 step shows). My college friends thought this was hilarious because of my ability to be extremely clumsy at awkward times. Not only did I make it through the year and complete everything on that list, but it turns out that my posture improved, my clumsiness dissipated, and my confidence began to soar. Go figure. After the completion of the year, I bought tennis shoes and flip-flops that I rarely wore. Stilettos became a new lifestyle for me and I was OK with that.

Throughout my journey, I have come across several of people, men and women, who gave their unsolicited advice/testimonies about my shoes and heels in general. All that does is remind me of the List of Cant’s that I received in 2003, and how people will always tell you what you cannot do if you let them. Therefore, the unsolicited advice falls on deaf ears - pun intended.

The Experience: Jazz & Champagne

I had a blast!! The Jazz was great, champagne was cold & bubbly, and the food was amazing. I’m not a fan of bananas but their Banana Foster was incredible including the whole serving presentation. The staff made me feel like royalty before and during my birthday event. Now, that I'm officially spoiled, Eddie V's is forever a part of my birthday ritual. Even though I'm still working on treating myself better, this was an unforgettable experience that I will treasure eternally. Way to go, Eddie V's Dallas, TX!

happiness
1

About the Creator

M'chelle Nicole

M'chelle Nicole, a novelist, is an inspirational conversationalist living in Dallas, TX. #Mompreneur #ntxhomecupid ​#TheSilentBeauty

Welcome to my memoirs on my experience as a deaf/HOH American. ​#deaftalent

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.