Motivation logo

Five Controversial Things I Wish I Knew at 15

Things Your Parents Wouldn’t Like

By Denilia BluePublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

So I recently wrote a post called "Five Things I Wish I Knew at Fifteen," all but few were surprising, common sense perhaps with a few twists, however I wanted this post to highlight things we feel we probably shouldn’t do at fifteen but are actually just a part of growing up, so here it goes.

5. Get Angry

This picture suits my post but I wouldn't suggest doing it!

You are allowed to be angry. At parents, friends, teachers, yourself, or anyone. Everyone tells you when you’re young that you should appreciate this time because life gets harder. And yes it does, but that doesn’t mean at that moment in time life isn’t hard. Sometimes you need to let it out. Tell people how you feel, it might seem silly afterwards, but sometimes the best thing you can do is release all that built up energy. You don’t want to grow up with suppressed anger still bubbling inside you else you’ll end up like me at eighteen, loosing my sh*t over something incredibly minuscule. It’s not worth it bro, let it out.

4. Tell people to f*ck off.

Sometimes you find yourself surrounded by a bunch of idiots, you don’t know how this happened or when it started to happen but it has happened. And you realise they’re draining your energy, so this piece of advice is really for any stage of your life, but especially when you’re young, you can tell people to f*** off, maybe using more polite words, but you don’t have to. Don’t force yourself to be around people who cause you stress. You can be rude if needed, your personal space is extremely important and it needs to be protected, especially if you’re anything like me, a bit of an introvert.

3. Cut people off.

To keep it short and sweet, not everyone is there to help you. You don’t need to keep people around you out of loyalty, if you can do better without them, cut them off.

2. Don’t listen to your parents.

So a lot of people will disagree with me on this one. But I strongly believe sometimes the best thing you can do is not listen to your parents. They know a lot of things, more than you yes, but not everything! Making mistakes is the only way to learn. Human life is one big irony, you can’t appreciate happiness without knowing sadness, you can’t learn without making a few mistakes, simple. So don’t think you have to listen to every word. And don’t feel bad about it either.

1. Be fake.

This is definitely one a lot of people will disagree with, however, hear me out. In life you will meet a lot of different characters, we perceive the world through our own perception of reality. So if you are a honest person, you perceive everyone around you as honest, if you’re trustworthy, you naturally trust people around you. I had to learn the hard way that not everyone is going to see things the same way you do. To bring me to my point, you will meet some people who will do things deliberately to push your buttons. I’m a very honest person and I take that seriously but I had to realise, sometimes that guy/girl who has upset you by speaking behind your back and spreading rumours is only doing it due to their own insecurities, the best thing isn’t always to confront them sometimes smile in their face, laugh, and joke with them. Nothing will deflate a hater more than realising they have no effect on you whatsoever. So to protect yourself and your energy be fake.

I hope I have helped you in some way. Feel free to give me a message any time. I love feedback and I love helping when I can.

Toodaloo.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Denilia Blue

Simple girl, Living in London refining her writing skills. Everything self-help, advice and problems. Let’s be awkward together.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.