Motivation logo

Finding Pandemic Pleasantries

Thankful for the positive embedded in all the negative

By Shelby Hagood Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

“Hurry along with getting your directions and equipment so we can get out of here,” the boss of my boss pops into the conference room in the middle of March. There was already a date set for all of us to start teleworking, but we have to pack it up early because someone in our building got sick and had tested positive for COVID-19. The talk about this virus never occurred to me in my brain that this stay at home lock down was actually going to be happening. There were emails coming to me from my school about how we were going to be switching to online classes, but I just thought that was a worst case scenario that would never actually happen. Here I was though sitting right in the middle of the worst case scenario. Teachers scrambling to make online lectures, work figuring out how we are going to have our meetings, and everyone grabbing at the hand sanitizers in their pockets or purses after touching every door knob.

After leaving work that day, everyone had a life adjustment to the internet to make. I saw how many businesses started failing because of having to shut down any one that wasn’t essential. People got laid off from jobs and struggled for money. I myself am thankful I got to keep my job during the time of the pandemic. I got to comfortably work from my assigned laptop at home. There was much struggle coming from communication from switching online. It was harder to get across fully what you were trying to say or mean in an email. It also meant that some people would not make themselves fully available for you, but am thankful for the ones who were willing to give the extra time to not shut down behind the phone or computer.

I am thankful for social media at this time most definitely. There was so many funny posts about the pandemic that gave everyone a great cheering up whenever they needed it. People also became more creative throughout this experience. Not being able to see family and friends had them to sit at home and write a cute story or make a funny short video. It helped to keep everyone connected when we all had to keep our space from one another. I am thankful for creative platforms like Vocal where artists and great thinkers can come and share their stories and ideas with others. I enjoy the competition prompt because it gives me a structure to have for a writing idea to embark on. I like reading about topic ideas or prompts people have and writing my own thoughts about it when I am done with a work day in order to have an outlet for end of the day thoughts.

I am also thankful for being able to participate in outdoor activities. I usually try to walk on a regular basis, but the time of the pandemic definitely had me walking at least three miles a day to be able to keep healthy with sunshine and fresh air. I did not want to be completely housed in constantly, and exercise helps to relieve anxiety tensions that were happening during this time. I remember a day I was feeling frustrated from pandemic tensions and walked eight miles in one day. I am thankful for all the people around me that are still here and fulfilling their goals. Many people losing their jobs has actually helped them to find a better one for themselves. Not everyone has been this fortunate though. I know there are some people who are still applying for jobs after months of being unemployed or having to juggle part time work.

The growth I have seen in myself and others within the past year is another reason to be thankful. There is always negative in the world and people who refuse to let themselves grow and thrive, but I am encouraged by the people who want to find joy in moving in a positive direction. I am thankful for the friends and family that I have that constantly make an effort to stay by my side whenever times are not fully well. I am thankful for the local orchestra that I can participate in currently, bringing music to lighten the mood of those who like to listen. I love getting lost in the music, letting the notes sing and tell a story for others to understand by feeling. I am most thankful to be moving forward into the new year where I can embrace new experiences. They can be positive or negative, but they will always be a new chapter of life to go towards and be thankful for.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Shelby Hagood

Warner Bros and Disney 💕

Cat lover 🐱

Love fancy chocolate 🍫

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.