Motivation logo

Fantasy

The thoughts behind a dream

By Ashleigh GPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Fantasy
Photo by Joel Wyncott on Unsplash

Looking inside the case, I see a stunning piece of artwork.

She's a deep red brown, artfully created in Australia by people that I've worked briefly with. Polished perfectly. Four malleable strings that feel just right under the delicate fingertips with which we play. A lovely red-brown chin rest, feeling so comfortable between my neck and jaw.

Will she be the one to fulfill my dreams? I hope so.

The first time I daydreamed about being a violinist, I was in high school, right in the middle of class. I saw my idol rocking out on the stage, stirring the crowds into an excited frenzy of joy and excitement. The music was raw, dramatic and full of emotion. It wasn't just a sensual experience - it was pure magic; the euphoria was intense.

In the years since, I've learned to embrace my love of music. I alternate between classical, 50s-70s and more modern styles. It's a strange thing, hearing a song and mapping out how it would sound on violin. Of course, learning is the hard thing, but it's a beautifully complex challenge.

The world is full of people who have so much to share and offer, often without needing anything back except happiness. Part of the love that one possesses for their passions comes from a strong sense of one self. Something that others have their own versions of, but no one can rob you of your own love of something so precious. People can try to tarnish your enthusiasm, but dimming someone's light is nearly impossible once they know who they are.

Once you know who you are and what you're meant to do in life, chase it with everything that you have. There's a surprising amount of strength that someone can have when they need something important. Happiness comes in many forms, just like the concept of success. From memory, there are anywhere between 7-8 billion people alive today - every single person has basic physical needs, but if we don't have things like happiness to keep us bound to life, what are we here for?

The violin and happiness are synonymous in my mind. I get frustrated in going through basics, admittedly. But if we constantly strive for better, something that could make us better or somehow more evolved, then surely we are moving forward in life? A child's interest in toy robots could lead anywhere in their adolescent and adult life - could they be today's engineers, or maybe a chef? Or even a performer? The point that I'm making here is that what we learn today could impact the world in a positive way in the future. The effects of our success may not always be immediate, but they are known by the most important person of all - you.

I'm a long way from where I want to be, but every day I'm inspired to be better while appreciating the people around me. Gifts come in beautiful packages and often unexpectedly - someone wonderful coming into your life, for example. Or it could be something like seeing something you like or love. I'm grateful for my ability to express how I feel, and to live in the moment. I love that I can hear really well and try to be the best listener as I can be.

Whatever your passion in life is, follow it. Don't just follow it, chase it with everything you've got and work on it. It's not just about money, it's about your mental health. If you love something and it's healthy for you, keep it around and do something about it. The rest of your life goes so quickly.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Ashleigh G

I'm a dreamer - perhaps quite literally. Daydreams occupy the majority of my thoughts, and almost every morning I wake up with the memory of a vivid dream.

These are my thoughts, feelings, opinions etc. Happy reading! xx

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.