Motivation logo

Everything that I'm thankful for

A very incomplete list of everything I am grateful for

By Jay CorderoPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
2
Everything that I'm thankful for
Photo by Kiy Turk on Unsplash

It's November, the season of giving thanks. It should go without saying, but I don't think we should limit ourselves to being grateful only in November when Thanksgiving rolls around, but I digress.

Despite the dire state of the world - this horrible neverending pandemic, climate catastrophe, and the fight for economic, racial, and gender justice (among many more things) - I personally have a lot to be thankful for. I am always happy to take some time to reflect on the things that make me happy and make life a little less miserable. So here's a list of all the things I'm thankful for (smiley face emoji).

By James Besser on Unsplash

My sister and family

I've always been thankful for the family I have. I know I got lucky; my family is loving and supportive despite not being the warmest person ever. Whenever I have a problem, I can count on them to come to my rescue. However, my sister has always had a special place in my heart.

She's been my best friend and accomplice for as long as I can remember. We tend to disagree a lot (like many siblings), but that has never taken away from our relationship. My sister is my number one supporter, and I'm hers. For this, I am grateful to have her in my life.

By Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

My boyfriend

I love my boyfriend. He is one of the sweetest, most understanding people I know. He's one of the closest people I have in my life, and I wouldn't have it any other way.

Honestly, sometimes I feel like the luckiest person alive for having him in my life. This year has been rough for a lot of people, and I'm no exception.

Every fall, I struggle to get out of bed as my seasonal depression sets in. Many people in my boyfriend's position wouldn't know what to do, as I become prone to canceling plans and too lethargic to hang out or put as much effort into our relationship. However, my boyfriend stuck by my side and made sure I had everything I needed to have a normal life, even during this challenging time of the year.

He makes sure I have access to my medicine - he also makes sure I take it regularly. He checks in on me when he knows I'm struggling and encourages me to not give up. For this, I'm grateful to have him in my life.

By Helena Lopes on Unsplash

My friends

This could be a whole piece by itself. I love my friends more than life itself. My friends are the family that I chose. For me, there is minimal distinction between friends and family. Sometimes I may even prefer my friends over family since they're the people I've chosen to share my life with.

Sometimes it feels like my friends know me better than my family, and that's okay. Without them, life would bland - a mixture of colorless and flavorless experiences.

My friends are there for me even when I don't want them to be. I remember earlier this year, I was struggling to get anything done. As a result of my depression, I stopped answering texts and any form of digital communication. My friends, knowing me, knew this meant trouble.

One Saturday afternoon, one of my best friends came all the way to my house. He confronted me about me being MIA and sat down with me to talk about what was going on. He comforted me while I cried. He reassured me that everything would be okay. He helped me come up with an action plan that would help put my life on track again.

This is just one out of many instances in which one of my friends came to my rescue when it felt like the world was falling apart, and I was falling apart right with it. There are no words that can express my gratitude towards them. For this, I am grateful for my friends and the universe that put them in my life.

By Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Sunny days

This may be a strange thing to be grateful for, but I love sunny days. They just make life better. The moment that the sun shines through the window and lights up my room makes me feel like everything will be okay. Not to mention how the warmth of sunshine on a cold fall day and how it makes the changing of the season a little more bearable for people like me.

For this, I am grateful for the sunny days I experience in my life!

By American Heritage Chocolate on Unsplash

Cakes

Who doesn't love cake?!?!

Okay, this one may not be as deep and soulful as the other ones. But come on?! Really, who doesn't love a good piece of cake ?! And I am not ashamed to say, I am grateful for cake!

By Sander Dewerte on Unsplash

That moment at night between the darkest point and the sunrise where the world seems to be still and quiet

As someone who suffers from depression, it can be difficult to find a moment of peace in a world that seems to be constantly moving. When I'm awake at late hours of the night, the world seems to be so quiet and still. The serenity of the night blesses my brain with a break. The goddess of the dark, the stars, and the moon come down upon me. She says in an almost whisper, "it's okay to pause for only a moment." Right then and there, everything is still—everything silent. My mind finally rests in a movement of wakefulness. It's a blessing to be able to experience that type of stillness.

For this, I am grateful for the night, and the moment it brings between the darkest point and the sunrise where the world is motionless.

Modern medicine

For this one, I'm specifically referring to the antidepressants I take every day. Thanks to antidepressants, I can feel like a normal person on most days. I have mentioned my depression quite a few times in this piece, but it's difficult not to when it is such a big part of my life.

Sometimes I think about so many people, even today do not have access to the proper care they need. This makes me feel incredibly fortunate. For this, I am grateful to modern medicine that allows me to be a functioning person.

By Aaron Burden on Unsplash

New Beginnings

I don't know why, but the idea of new beginnings has always been exciting for me—the beginning of a week, a month, a year, a semester. My mind just runs wild with the endless possibilities of things to come, and excitement arises from the bottom of my brain, fueling my body with a surge of energy that gives me infinite hope and desire to do everything I ever wanted to do and more.

In hindsight, this very feeling could be the effect of a manic episode manifesting itself in my brain. Either way, the prospects of new beginnings is something beautiful to be grateful for.

Conclusion

Being thankful is one of my favorite things to do. It gives me a way to be reflective of all the blessings in my life. Sometimes it can be tough to remain positive, especially in times like these. However, this time of the year allows me to think about all the good things in my life despite the bad ones.

Obviously, this is nowhere near an exhaustive list of all the things that I'm grateful for. I'm sure that I have more blessings than I can count. However, it always puts me in a good mood to try and find all the little things that make my life a little brighter every day.

happiness
2

About the Creator

Jay Cordero

Hello!

Ever since I was little I loved stories; they made me feel connected to something bigger than myself. This is why I am working towards becoming a writer. I want to be able to replicate the bliss I feel when reading for my readers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.