Motivation logo

Doing My Best

Despite everything

By Andrea PowellPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

I really sat here and thought on this for such a long time and just drew a blank. I was trying to figure out what good deed is worth mentioning or what should I write about. Because let’s face it, this year more than others, has truly tested me, it has tried my patience, broken me down, and has made me close to hitting rock bottom. I am so sure I am not even close to being the only one.

As we all know, it has been one rough year from basic home problems, to financial hardship, loss, COVID, and everything in between. I have experienced more loss in a matter of months than I would ever wish on anyone. I have lost pets that were in my life since I was a child, members I have worked with for years (I work as a case manager for the seriously mentally ill), all the way to the most painful loss which was losing my role model, best friend and father figure which was my grandfather. He passed in the beginning of December 2020 and my world fell apart. This caused me to take time off work which had to be personal unpaid time. Now given the time of year, on top of everything else, I was in such a tough financial place that I honestly did not know what to do for my 10-year-old daughter for Christmas. My husband’s boss donated 35 hours of PTO, a $400 Christmas bonus, and $250 in Amazon gift cards for my daughter to be able to have a Christmas. Not only did this happen, I also had numerous people give my money to be able to cover the cost of cremation and everything else included with the death of my grandfather.

Leading up to his passing, he was in the hospital, I spoke with the doctors who were there who suggested he go to hospice, however, I chose to have him come home and take on that role so he could be at home with family. He lived with me, so it made it possible to make sure he was comfortable. I was overwhelmed but I chose to take care of my grandfather on top of taking care of a caseload of 72 people because I knew in my heart it was important. I have always been one to put others before myself, this line of work has taught me how rewarding it can be. It has been a little over a month, and I still think about him daily, grief doesn’t get any easier but knowing that I have so many people who rely on me at work, pushes me to be stronger than ever. I work in a clinic that requires us to be available for our members regardless of what is going on in the world.

I think one of the most selfless and humbling one can do is push everything you are dealing with personally, at home and despite everything going on in the world still manage to fight your demons silently to make sure you are up and ready to help members fight their demons every day. Being there for members who are having a hard time to be able to do this on their own is something I can honestly say I am so proud to be able to do. I feel like I am selfless daily, I would do everything in my power to make sure I am there for others who truly have no one. I know it wasn’t a specific form of a good deed or act of kindness, but in all honesty, I am so proud of the work I do and happy to say that this is part of my daily routine.

healing
1

About the Creator

Andrea Powell

Hi all ❤️ I’m Andrea! I love reading and writing, especially poetry. I just wanted to find a place to express myself and I hope you all enjoy ☺️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.