Motivation logo

Do You Take Up as Much Space as You Deserve?

"You may not be in control of everything that happens to you, but you can decide not to be overwhelmed by them." ~ Maya Angelou

By Arya SharmaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Do You Take Up as Much Space as You Deserve?
Photo by Mareko Tamaleaa on Unsplash

As a child, I was struck by the message that I was very powerful. Everywhere I went, people said I was loud, very smart, very heavy, very talkative, very angry, very active, very happy, moving forward, and stupid.

My very eager little person took those ideas as instructions, so I tried to imitate the image of what others say I should be.

I pretended to be small. It never worked. Our authenticity forces their way to the top no matter how much we press them.

But I kept striving to be less than I was, physically and emotionally. My strength went out. It took me a while to figure out the truth.

I made myself small so that others could feel more comfortable with me.

Even though it made me feel good about myself, I kept doing it. It was easy to be thin. Even my handwriting was small. For months I was bitterly rejected, a little, controlled writing replaced my unfamiliar and dirty writing.

As my energy level plummeted, my body grew bigger and bigger. Last year my little frame reached about 210 pounds.

I can see now that my spirit - my body of energy - is yearning for balance.

To avoid being “overreacted,” I bit my tongue, squeezed my emotions, strained my muscles, and breathed my last. I calmed down, and he rebelled. My body was looking for the right one, so it forced my physical health to grow.

I gained weight. I found the goods. I behaved in a very immoral way.

Like putting my thumb on the end of a garden hose, forcing myself all out, I struggled to take the space we wanted, the space I denied.

Recent health fears illuminated this inequality for me. I was released from the hospital feeling that I was in for a rude awakening. For the first time in my life, I started to feel worthless. I had no strength left.

In the past, I would relinquish my right to eat or drink, so no one would accuse me of being “too emotional.”

This time, I carefully chose to allow the emptiness to fill in my gaps rather than trying to fill the void. I was amazed that my energy body loved all that space. Stretch and relaxed.

About the same time, I moved into a new apartment and began spending time with a man I loved. Suddenly, both internal and external factors moved me to control my excess and focus on achieving the full potential of these new opportunities.

I completely changed my behavior. I have purposely abandoned the preconceived notions of morality and morality. They no longer work for me.

The result: I lost 50 pounds (50 kg) in the next three months.

I am convinced that my body was thin because I first allowed my energy body space to grow. Once I had a foundation, my physical strength needed a little rebelling.

When both the new home and the new love did not meet my expectations, I almost went back to my old habits. Depression creates my feelings of “under.”

But this time, I broke the cycle. I have accepted the truth, and I accept whatever emptiness it contains. It's the most powerful thing I've ever done.

I started by asking these questions:

1. What is my extremes?

Compulsive behavior is the first sign that my energy body is feeling small and is trying hard to get attention.

Do you overeat? Overwork? Excessive waste? Are you overly concerned with appearance? Are you overly critical of others? Do you sleep a lot? Do you drink too much? Too much party? Where is your uncontrollable and unbalanced life?

2. Where is my chaos?

I've been struggling to stay healthy all my life. What part of your life is chaotic and dirty? Your home? Office? The car? Wallet? Finance? Your relationship? What do you think?

If something is wrong with the thought of planning it overwhelms me, it is a sure sign that my energy body feels too small to accomplish this task. So, I'm not even trying. Soon, chaos swept over my life.

3. How do I feel?

When I live in a single automatic feeling, it often hides deep, unpleasant feelings that I don’t want to deal with. Like a large X marking a place, I have to point out what is above before I dig under it.

Do you always worry? Ignorance? Anger? Confusion? Fear? Do you cling to others and desire to be close? Do you hide from others and wish for distance? Do you try to analyze or control others but avoid focusing on yourself?

This life is in a working state, where we spend our days running, missing limits, putting out fires, and bending to do the will of others. Instead of making the life we ​​want strong, external forces suppress our behavior. Our energy body feels too small to resist.

So how do we help ourselves grow inside?

Anything that involves breathing and movement involves body and energy. Most people are familiar with popular methods such as yoga, Pilates, dance, martial arts, or athletics. To me, it was something called the Alexander Technique.

Developed by F.M. Alexander in the late 1800's, his process did not require special equipment or space. He found that normal muscle relaxation impaired the body's ability to move freely, so he devised a way to relieve that discomfort.

Alexander was a recipient of laryngitis. He looked at himself in the mirror and saw that he was stiffening his neck when he spoke, which made him dizzy.

He spent years looking at how he could release that solution, and found that he could only do it by thinking of doing it. His thoughts can affect his body, disrupting the movements that normally cause his muscles. He can then straighten his muscles in a smooth motion.

Alexander Technique helps to create a sense of space in the body. It really makes us feel more comfortable in our skin.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.