Motivation logo

Diving High

A story about a 3rd grader who pursues swimming with a professional swimmer.

By Anonymousauthor201Published 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Diving High
Photo by Jess Zoerb on Unsplash

On the first day of Elementary school, someone came to visit. All of us kids in the 3rd grade were sitting on a sticky, plastic, hollow bleacher. It was dark at first in the auditorium where all the 9 year old's sat. You can hear there voices mumbling from across the empty echoing floor. From a sudden moment, the lights beamed on. They shined so bright in our faces, we all gasped. Our short, stumpy Principal Thatcher came into the auditorium. You can hear every one of his footsteps on the vinyl floors. He walked so conspicuously to the center of the floor where he planted his foot hard. He turned and faced us all and sat there for a brief moment giving us a unforgettable glare. Every kid sat quietly, wondering what is going on.

"Students.." He started to say. "This is Corey Gates. A professional swimmer. He came to give you guys a motivational talk".

The tall, long haired guy walked through the door into the auditorium. Everyone sat and said not even a word. He walked in and waved to everyone sitting. He walked over next to Principle Thatcher and clapped his hands together. Then the talk began.

Moments later after the talk ended, every student was dismissed from their seats. I got up off the sticky bleacher and carefully walked down to the floor. I walked out of the door and followed the whole group of kids out to the playground. When I got to the playground, I sat down on one of the rosy red benches. I took off my backpack and zipped it open. I grabbed out my lunchbox and opened that up too. I grabbed out my juice box. Putting the straw in it, is always so hard. I plunged it super hard into the juice box and accidentally stabbed it out the side, creating a giant spilled berry mess.

I got up urgently and groaned really loud because of the mess I had made. Almost every student on the playground heard me and looked over in my direction. I have juice spills all over my clothing. I quickly put my stuff back into my backpack, zipped it up, and ran as fast as I could to the restroom. I could hear some kids laughing at me as I receded. I slammed through one of the stall doors and slammed it closed, locking it. I sat down and cried. I was so embarrassed that this happened to me.

After a short while, the bell had rung. I got up slowly, wiping the tears off my face with my sleeve. I came out of the bathroom and hurried to class. I got to the classroom door and hesitated to open it. I held my hand around the handle. I sat for a few minutes, only until the bell rang again. I opened the door and walked in and I kept my head down in embarrassment hoping that no one would recognize me. I sat down in my seat and dramatically rested my head on my bare, cold desk.

Hours later when school ended, I rushed to get myself out of school grounds so I couldn't take more of the humiliation. As I was leaving, I saw a small board with pushpins and papers all over it. There was a flyer that had caught my attention. It was a flyer saying to come join the famous professional swimming athlete Corey Gates in a class to become part of his team. And the first thing I thought was to try something new and to make myself out there so the other kids wouldn't have a reason to laugh at me. I may only be 9 years old, but that doesn't mean I can't do something big. I grabbed the flyer off of the board and stuffed it in my jacket. I ran to the car and quickly got in and went home.

When me and my mother had arrived home, I showed her the flyer and told her all the big things I wanted to partake in swimming. However, I didn't tell her the real reason as to why. It took a big convincing but she eventually told me that I was allowed to do this only if I had promised that I would be safe about it and get my chores done on time. I happily agreed. Mom got up from the table and walked into the kitchen. She brought out platters of food that smelled so good throughout the house. She placed them on the table and told me to dig in. After I ate dinner, I went to bed ready to start the next day and start my swimming with Corey Gates.

As the next day approached, I jumped out of bed in excitement. I got ready for school and rushed out the door. When mom dropped me off, she told me I could miss todays school so I could get a head start on swimming than the other kids. I got out of the car and walked over to the pool gym next door to the school. I pulled the door open and walked in. The sun was glistening through the windows onto the top of the water. It was quiet.

"Hello?" I yelled as my voice echoed through. No answer. Shortly after, a tall man started to come through the door and approach me. He was excited to see me standing there before him. I told him I was there for the swimming lessons and to be a part of the team. In which, he was happy to hear. He pointed in the direction for the swim suits and the locker room where I could change and store my things. I got changed into the bright blue swim suit and proceeded out the door back into the pool area where he was standing.

He asked me if I knew how to swim. I replied yes to that question. He also asked me if I was ready to jump in and start. I replied yes as well. I walked around the edge of the pool to the deep end. I dipped in my toes to feel the temperature and sure enough it was freezing, I shivered. I took a step back and plunged into the pool. When my head came up, I gasped for air. Then, Corey gates told me some things to try, to start my lessons.

By the end of the day, I was the only kid to have shown up. I've been taking lessons all day. However, he did tell me that I was outstanding, especially for my age. And I knew that this was something that I wanted to stick too. As weeks went on of lessons, I was finally recruited to the team, as if I wasn't already on it. I was about to go to a competition. I didn't think I was ready. When the day came, I put on my pretty blue swim suit and stood before many people. I was a bit shy. When they called my name, I stood up on the diving board next to many other kids to compete against, that were a bit older than me, but that didn't stop me. I touched my fingertips to the board, and the head coach blew his whistle. We all plunged into the water, head first, diving in. I swam so hard, and fought my way to the other end. When I came up out of the water at the other end of the pool, Corey Gates was standing there. He yanked me out of the water and hugged me. He was jumping up and down. He said, "Congratulations! You WON!". I was so shocked to have heard this. I looked around.. everyone was cheering for me. This is something I never want to let go of.. this feeling. After that, I went home with my ribbon and was so excited and spent the rest of the night celebrating with my mother.

As years passed by, I still pursued swimming. I was still being coached by Corey Gates too of course. I won over 15 trophies and ribbons. I never lost. And this may have been something I was scared of doing at first, but I will never stop swimming. I will keep on diving high amongst the crowds.

success
Like

About the Creator

Anonymousauthor201

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.