Motivation logo

diary of a chronic oversharer

DEAR WORLD AND ANYONE WHO WILL LISTEN-

By Emily FleetPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1
it’s me, hi!!! I am said oversharer!!

I’ve always been an open book. In a way that’s seems can be painful for others to bear witness, based on the secondhand embarrassment written on their faces.

I don’t blame them, we aren’t socialized to tell the whole truth to anyone who asks. It’s a confounding, rebellious, addictive habit.

It was my outlet, my “art”- poems about my teenage angst. Developing a new idea of myself, growing and creating myself as an individual. A blossoming sexuality, unrequited love. It wasn’t that everyone else wasn’t experiencing the same trials and heartaches- I was just one of the few brave enough to publicly share my writing about it.

I continued to unlearn habits of socialization. In mundane social interactions, I stopped answering questions with fake cheer and used each opportunity as a prompting to check in with myself- “how AM I really doing today?!” I still catch myself slipping into stale, fake answers (“I’m great!!!!”) and will quietly add, “actually, that’s not true. It’s been a hard day.”

I began sharing inconsequential details with strangers for my own amusement, how much I love X product or how I’m buying Y for a friend. Every interaction is a possibility for a genuine human connection, as long as I’m a willing participant.

Of course not every stranger is a mutual participant- but that is fine. Everyone deserves their own time and space to share, or opt not to share. And of course, every invitation for conversation doesn’t necessarily yield a deep musing on life but I’ve heard some great stories, learned a lot of secret tips, recieved dozens of worthy recommendations, and each time favored these unpredictable anecdotes over blinking and waiting in silence.

Even I’m not at a place where I share EVERYTHING- everything is not solely mine to tell. There is a comfort in privacy- in knowing that there is always a choice involved in what to share and when to share it. But there is a bravery in sharing, a beauty in finding another person who says “I felt that way too” or “knowing you’ve experienced this makes me feel less alone.”

I feel a strange pull towards my oversharing tendencies. It’s a way of being that’s hard to explain- like not baring my innermost thoughts and struggles is somehow a denial of my true nature, a betrayal to the others it’s an opportunity to commune and connect with. I judge myself for my own compulsion to share, punish myself into silence. It weighs on me like obligations of unfulfilled promises- a facade and charade of the person I truly am.

I’m learning that I don’t want to continue to exist within this world where I am expected to be a different person in each facet of my life. I’d rather fully display all that I am- even when it’s messy and ugly and unfavorable.

It’s the place where the hard stuff and the magic cohabitate, and it’s where I choose to reside.

happiness
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.