Motivation logo

DESPITE ALL ODDS

LIVING AS A SINGLE MUM

By Ruth Peter IkechukwuPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
1

I was born and raised in Nigeria, a country filled with vibrant colors, rich culture, and endless possibilities. From a young age, I dreamt of a future filled with success and achievement. I believed that with hard work and determination, I could conquer any obstacle that came my way. But life has a way of testing our resilience and altering our paths.

In my late teens, as I blossomed into a young lady, I found myself entangled in a whirlwind romance. My heart was filled with hope and naivety, and I believed that love could conquer all. However, the intensity of my passion blinded me to the consequences of my actions.

One fateful night, the whispers of love turned into a moment of weakness. At that moment, my dreams and aspirations collided with an unplanned reality. I discovered I was pregnant outside of wedlock. Panic and fear consumed me as I thought of the disappointment I would bring upon my family and the judgments I would face from society.

As the months went by, my body changed, mirroring the transformation within my heart and mind. I grappled with feelings of guilt, shame, and uncertainty. The future I had envisioned seemed to crumble before my eyes. But deep down, a flicker of determination burned within me. I knew I couldn't let this setback define me.

After giving birth to a beautiful baby girl, I held her in my arms, and at that moment, I made a promise to both of us. I promised her a life filled with love, happiness, and endless opportunities. And I promised myself that I would not let my circumstances extinguish the fire of my dreams.

Raising a child as a single mother was not easy. It required unwavering strength, relentless determination, and sacrifices beyond measure. I juggled odd jobs to make ends meet, working long hours while caring for my daughter. The days were long and exhausting, but I refused to let weariness overshadow my dreams.

Education had always been my beacon of hope, and I knew that it was the key to unlocking a better future for myself and my daughter. So, during late nights and stolen moments, I pursued my studies with unwavering dedication. I stayed up, pouring over textbooks and learning materials, absorbing knowledge like a sponge. I am the top student in my department right now and I believe that my certificate will not just mean being a graduate because I know I am going to do greater things before I clock 30.

The road was bumpy, and there were moments when I stumbled and doubted myself. But every time I looked into my daughter's eyes, I found the strength to pick myself up and continue. She became my motivation, my guiding light in the darkest of times.

Slowly but surely, I know my perseverance will bear fruit. Life continued to challenge me, but I refused to be defined by my past. I faced the judgments and prejudices with grace and resilience, knowing that my worth extended far beyond the mistakes I had made. I refused to let society's expectations limit my potential or dim my light.

As years passed away and my daughter is growing and I want her to witness firsthand the strength and determination that had shaped my life. Learning that no obstacle is insurmountable and that dreams are worth fighting for. Together, we will embrace life's challenges, embracing the beauty of resilience and the power of love.

Today, as I look back on my journey, I realize that motherhood didn't cut short my dreams—it expanded them. Through the challenges I faced, I discovered a strength within myself that I never knew existed. And as my daughter blossoms into a remarkable young lady, I know that my sacrifices were worth it.

healing
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • sylvia simon11 months ago

    So brave of you to share this.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.