Motivation logo

Designing A Giant Life-Sized Winnie The Pooh With Will Smith.

Knitting A Life-Sized Winnie The Pooh- Part One.

By Nicola RattleyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Designing A Giant Life-Sized Winnie The Pooh With Will Smith.
Photo by Ursula Castillo on Unsplash

I know what you are thinking, designing a life-sized Winnie the Pooh, that is crazy, trust me I know and to knit it of all things, wow its going to take me so long.

But I'm up for the challenge.

You see I have been knitting for years now, and not just any pattern either, I have been designing my own.

I'm a Knitting Pattern Designer, mostly toys, such as a Teddy, to a Clown Fish.

I also knit baby items, such as blankets, beanies and more.

I have been doing it for years now but lately I have been less and less excited about my new designs, its getting same old, same old.

Until the other day when I thought about the time I planned on designing a giant teddy bear, but then I considered, what if I don't just knit any teddy bear, what if I create a life-sized Winnie the Pooh Bear?

And it has just gone from there.

Now the biggest toy that I have ever knitted has been my bumble bee.

This is him, he is 25cm Tall and 25cm Wide.

Obviously if I want to knit a giant life-sized Winnie the Pooh it is going to have to be a lot bigger than this, a lot, a hell of a lot.

Now you might be wondering where Will Smith fits into all of this, well its one of his quotes that is giving me the inspiration to knit my giant life-sized Winnie the Pooh.

'The First Step Is You Have To Say That You Can' - Will Smith.

That was the very first thing I asked myself when I had this idea, was can I do this?

And just like he said the first step is to say that you can, and I can, and I will.

Another quote of his that is getting me through this is Will Smith's 10 Rules For Success.

1. Focus.

2. Improve Yourself.

3. Make A Choice.

4. Have A Purpose.

5. Be Great.

6. Provide Value.

7. Live Life Without Fear.

8. Work On Your Skill.

9. Let Fear Motivate You.

10. Have Fun.

This is a huge help when I start to doubt myself, I look at this list and I can instantly say that I am doing all these things by knitting this Winnie the Pooh.

And I'm not going to lie I am scared, scared that I will fail, but like he says Let Fear Motivate You, besides if you never take any chances you will never get anywhere in life, I should know.

Now you might be wondering why Will Smith is my inspiration for this, yes he has nothing to do with knitting but that doesn't matter.

The first movie I ever saw Will Smith in was IRobot.

I love that movie, still do to this day, wow it was so long ago that I first watched that movie now.

And I also like the movie Karate Kid that his son starred in.

I suppose probably because I relate to that movie a lot, I was beaten and bullied at a young age from the other kids at my school.

That's one of the main reasons why I knit, it is my coping mechanism when I am stressed or depressed.

But the reason Will Smith is my inspiration is because he shows that you can come from very little but still make a lot for yourself, that if you believe in yourself you can do anything you put your mind to.

Especially when (sadly) black people tend to be less better of than other people.

It just shows how much harder he had to work to get to where he is today, and so have a lot of other people of all different types of races.

But he shows that you can do it.

And that is what I am doing, I am putting my mind to designing this giant life-sized Winnie the Pooh.

I already have some of the wool I need.

Although I am going to need a lot more than this, a lot more, a massive amount of a lot more.

But it's just to start me off, and I have already started.

In 40 minutes I knit from 10 Stitches up to 80 Stitches, although judging from the size so far I may have to go up to 200 Stitches and possibly even more depending.

Gosh that thought is just scary.

But I have started and I think it is already going well.

I still have a long way to go but it's a start and I am already very proud of myself to get it on the needles and start it, I'm super nervous so it's making my anxiety go sky high.

But now that I have started it, I need to continue it, it's easy to start something, but its harder to finish it.

But I am going to finish it, using Will Smith's quotes to guide me and help me along this journey.

And I am going to enjoy this journey, just as much as the finished item itself.

Because it is a journey, a long one but if you don't put the work into it, you won't get the reward.

And I am putting the work into it, speaking of which I'm off to go knit some more.

Wish me luck!

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.