Motivation logo

Deny me my humanity

Allow me to be kind

By TvVPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Why do you take offense when I mourn your history? Why does it anger you when I take a stand beside you? Is there always going to be an “us” and “them”?

Should I not have been devastated by the raging fire that consumed a city… because I do not live in that country?

Should I not have cried when that tsunami killed people so many people… because none of them were my family?

Should I not feel anger when rhinos are poached… because I am not a rhino?

Should I not have cried when that volcano erupted killings hundreds… because I am not in danger?

Should I not have been horrified when that bridge collapsed taking the lives of children… because my child does not attend that school?

Should I not rejoice with you when you bear a child… because I no longer can?

Should I not hold your hand through your mental illness… because mine has a different name?

Should I not grieve with you when you lose a child… because I can never fully understand it?

Should I not be bitterly enraged when children are trafficked… because mine are safe?

Should I not be sad at seeing caged animals… because my cage is transparent?

Should I not be proud that Miss South Africa was crowned Miss Universe… because I have less melanin in my genetics?

Should I not…?

Do you deny me my tears? Do you deny my human right to empathy? Do you deny my right to be spiritually shaken when disasters affect my planet?

Our Creator breathed that right into my body.

You do NOT have the right to hold on to your hatred so tightly that it consumes you. You cling jealously to your resentment of the perceived and real enemy, not realizing it actually has YOU in its grip. You do NOT have the right to darken your soul. You do not have the right to exclude me from feeling happiness at your triumphs and achievements. You DO have the right to share your pain and tears. This is how we learn NOT to perpetuate the cycle of having an “us” and “them”, they cycle of hatred and violence, the mentality of being self-absorbed, the view that only YOUR KIND, whatever that may be, being victims or victors. Entitled or underprivileged… the wrong religion, the wrong color, the wrong language, the wrong gender, the wrong side of town, the wrong orientation.

Do we not learn? What if our only duty on earth was to be good to each other? Is hate even real, or is it disguised? Is it really fear?

Why do we need gay pride marches? Why do we need to say black lives matter? Why do we need woman's rights? Why do we even need to teach equality? Because hatred is not a natural emotion. That is why it feels so effing sordid inside you, it does not belong there. Address it as fear... take charge, get to know the people that are different from you. You'd be amazed to find they are actually... tah dah... HUMAN LIKE YOU!

Deny me my humanity and eventually, we will cease to co-exist. We will give up on each other. Let me share your laughter and tears and I will share mine with you.

advice
1

About the Creator

TvV

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.