Motivation logo

Dedication and Determination

Whatever It Takes!

By Kanisha PatelPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
1

Do you sometimes find yourself in a situation when you want something so badly that you can do anything for that and though in the end, you don’t get it?

At some point or another, we find ourselves in this situation and sometimes it ripped us apart.

For example, a new beginner writer got rejected for the book he gave so much of his time to write. At that point, it feels like you have failed, you feel discouraged and may not want to write again or you don’t have ideas to write anymore.

While there are some people who don’t even want to start due to the fear of facing this phase. They have the dedication to do something but sometimes may lack determination or vice versa. If not anyone, but I was one of those.

I was always fascinated by books. I dream to be a writer one day and share stories to people all around the world. Once I attended a writing seminar. In the end, they asked me to write a story of someone present there in 15 minutes.

I was blank. I got confused about Whom am I asked to write. I got irritated and concluded that this is not possible as how can I know the story of someone I don’t even know.

I observed people around me… even they were confused about what to write. Everybody was tensed, though had the dedication to write something but none had content to fill the paper.

“Times up guys! Times up. Now before I call anyone, I want you all to know that I will verify what you wrote whether it’s the truth,” the host said.

Then the host asked if someone was ready to come and share their work, but everyone just sat on their place silently and waiting that someone else will go up there and then they don’t have to.

The host started laughing and said if not you people then I can share a story of all of you.

“All of you are very confused right now, fighting a war in your own mind, trying to figure out what this person is asking me to do.

Some of you might even have concluded that I am kidding by now.

While some of you may be thinking to write an imaginary story as its going to be anonymous and how the hell will anyone know whether it’s true or not. So, let’s cheat, but as soon as I said I will verify, they got scared.

While many gave up the thought of writing thinking about how I can write anything without knowing what to write…so let everyone else do it and I will just hear them.

And at the end, no one dared to come up and say something. And this is the story of every one of you right now.”

All of us just stared at him and there was a pin drop silence.

“Look around you, my people, observe what’s going on in your surrounding…” He started saying again. “There is a story hidden everywhere… you just need to have determination along with dedication to find it… Writers see and discover things that other people are not able to. They discover the things which are always there with us but are not able to see it, realize it until it’s brought in front of us. Never underestimate yourself as a writer, our pen gives us strength and paper become a link to form a forever bond with you and your readers. You need to reach the hearts of the people and for that my friend you need to just make your dedication equal to the determination in your life.

There’s a very thin line between both but without one, you can’t achieve anything.

Everyone over here had the dedication to write something, to dedicate your time and focus to the paper and pen, but did anyone of you here showed determination, determination to find the story, determination to write something. With the commitment to do something you need to make efforts, fix a plan to reach your destination.”

Everyone was still silent. None have anything to say. There was so much intensity in his talks... he touched the heart of everyone, I was able to relate myself to his speech. A strong volt of energy flowed through me making me shiver, his words made me twitch, it arose a strong sensation of motivation in me.

I learned something that day, I learned that dreaming to achieve something is not enough, persistence to have that is not enough, willpower is not enough, efforts are in vain until and unless, all these works in unison, until and unless we maintain this balance in our life.

quotes
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.