Motivation logo

Dear Future me

Did my birthday wish come true?

By Fatima BatoolPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Hello Fatima! I hope you're doing well, it's me. Past you! I don't know when you have found this letter and what you have achieved by this point but I have decided that what I have written in here is to one day be read by you. I beg of you to please read the following list. This list is full of things that I want you to do in the future.

1. Travel. Travel around the world and back! Discover new places and cultures and enjoy them. Just relax and have fun. Everyone needs time to calm down from everything. You could go with friends or family or just yourself. If you are stressed and finding things hard right know and you don't think you have the time to relax, let me tell you. Make time. Trust me. Holidays keep you sane!

2. Focus. It's hard to always focus on work. When I'm in class the teacher is constantly scolding me for not focusing and says that,"If one wants to learn to become successful then one must be focused and hardworking." I am aware, however many times that I get upset because of being yelled at, that she is absolutely correct in what she says. Please try, because I desperately want to be successful.

3. Be grateful for what you have. Mum and Dad are always saying this and sometimes I can't help but roll my eyes. Mum tells me almost everyday, "There are people out there that don't have what you have, you should be grateful." I didn't take her words that seriously until last Tuesday. I was eating my hot steaming butter chicken, from my flask, with some homemade naan that Mum wrapped up in some foil. Julia was sitting next to me and she said to me quietly, "You are very lucky that your Mum makes food for you. My Mum is too busy." I looked down at her food. She had a cheese sandwich and that was it. I immediately felt ashamed for all the times I complained to Mum about her cooking. So you see, now I know that she is right. I do sometimes gets annoyed still but only because I hear it constantly. I don't want to make you annoyed so I will only tell you once. Be grateful because there are many many people that would be immensly thankful to have what you have.

4. This is the last thing and it is rather important. Please have respect for everyone and everything. Dad said to me that you should respect books so to not step on them or leave them on the floor. Mum says to respect clothes and thank them even when you throw them away because they helped to keep you covered and warm. My teacher tells me to respect parents because they care for me and are the ones that brought me into the world. I think that it is very important to have respect for everyone and everything so please do but don't forget to have respect for yourself

Now that I have finished with my list I would like to say that I really do wonder that right now, as you read this letter, are you successful? And if so are you successful in the right way? It was my birthday today and do you know what I wished for? I wished that when I'm older I want to be not just successful with work and money but also that, in the future, I will have great principles and a lovely personality, is that what I have become?

Love From. Past you.

self help
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.