Motivation logo

Cutting Toxic People Out of Your Life Is One Step Closer to Success

It may not be the easiest thing to do in the world. It does however change your life for the better. You just have to make the first move.

By Noah NelsonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3
Cutting Toxic People Out of Your Life Is One Step Closer to Success
Photo by Zac Durant on Unsplash

Who doesn’t want to be successful, right?

I know I do. I’m sure you do too. But it’s a long journey to reach that point.

There’s so much we all have to do to become successful, that is if we choose to. And one of those things is cutting toxic people out of our life.

It may not be the easiest thing to do. But it will be the act that changes our lives for the better.

I Used to Hate Cutting Off Toxic People Out of My Life

I don’t know why I ever thought this, but I used to think that everyone in our lives stayed in our lives forever. Boy was I wrong.

I didn’t know they would only play a small role in our lives. But over the years, I’ve learned this is a common occurrence.

As years go by, people change. They grow and mature. Or they stay immature and don’t do anything with their life.

People part of that latter group are those who keep bringing us down to their level. They don’t want to succeed in life. And they don’t want us to succeed either.

They cause drama. They do the same thing every day. They make everyone else feel bad. That’s when you know it’s time.

Time to cut them out of your life.

It may hurt like hell but the aftermath will feel great, even with a little sting. This has happened to me more times than one.

Many of my past friends have all stayed the same. They didn’t do anything at all to advance their life. I couldn’t be sucked into the blackhole of nothing.

I wanted to do something with my life.

I grew tired of their loads of bull. They talked about the same things over and over again. It was excruciating.

So I cut them off.

I quit talking to them without any explanation. It felt strange at first, but after you make a habit of them not being in your life, you forget they even existed.

And the feeling is great.

We never argue or having a falling out. I simple walk away from the toxic environment they create for themselves.

Soon after I leave, I feel so much positivity in life. I can’t describe how great it is but it’s a feeling like no other.

That’s why you should do the same if you want to be successful too.

You Need to Cut Toxic People Out of Your Life Soon Too

If you’re tired of the drama, the same loads of bull and doing the same things everyday with the same people, stop yourself. Walk away from the problem.

They clearly don’t want to better their lives. And you do. Eliminating yourself from the problem will make your life ten times better.

They may apologize and say they are going to change. That’s a lie too.

They will never change. If they do, they will have to them prove it to you. And that day may never come.

You have big dreams, goals and ambitions. Don’t let these negative lekole stand in your way.

They don’t want to see you succeed. They just want to drag you down to their level and keep you there forever.

It’s a trap I’ve fallen down into too many times in the past. I learn from my mistakes and move on.

And you should too.

Closing Thoughts

Whatever you end up doing in life, I know you will be successful at it. You just have to believe you can and do it.

Life will take care of the rest.

But first and foremost, the success will come when you cut off all of the toxic people from your life. It’s helped me succeed and live a happy life.

I know it will happen for you too. You just have to take the first step towards it.

advice
3

About the Creator

Noah Nelson

I’m currently pursuing a Master of Science in Journalism at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. If I’m not reading or writing, I’m probably at a concert or playing acoustic guitar.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.