Motivation logo

CREATIVE WRITING: Breaking Down Characters Through Music

How I use music to help me gain a better understanding of the characters in my stories.

By Travis BerketaPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
1
Credit: iStock/Grandfailure

Whenever I first get a seed of an idea for my writing, I immediately turn to music to help it grow. If it’s a scene or a character that needs to be built or further developed, music is my key to unlocking motivations and events. This has been something I have used for much of my writing life and has given me an eclectic taste in music, as well as a smorgasbord of tales to tell.

Prior to Spotify, I would create playlists on CD to go with my writing and the music would help manufacture my stories. The CD would play over and over again, until it had to be changed to the next one in order for me to concentrate on another story. Now, it has become a lot simpler, as I have playlists set up on Spotify to get me focused on the stories I write. Each song has its own special place for the story I have fixed it to and they lead me into the world of the story and into various scenes. It’s like I get the movie of what is happening in my head and am then able to just write what is happening from there.

The following songs are found on my playlist for my Jack Majors: Superhero series; and I will talk you through why these songs are so important to focusing my writing on this story.

THIS IS WHO I AM – Vanessa Amorosi

Sitting at Number 1 on the playlist, this song is the epitome of who the main character, Jack Majors, is as a person.

I spend my life, trying to do things right

But all I do is fall to my face with my hands on my head so many times

But then I learnt, after being burnt

To get back up and push straight on

Stop the tears people move on, on

Jack Majors is a teenager who is learning about his powers – flight, strength and invulnerability. He is always trying to use his powers to help, but things seem to find a way of getting out of control. However, he doesn’t let this stop him from doing what he feels is right, no matter how bad things appear to get. Deep down, he’s a fighter who knows who he is and who he should be, but doubt always creeps in, as others try to direct him into other areas.

So when I listen to this song, it brings me right to the essence of who Jack is and I can usually get straight in and write the scenes where I need to express how he would react to situations.

FLY – Hilary Duff

For a hero dubbed “Flying Boy”, this song once again goes down to the core of who Jack Majors is and I usually play ‘This is Who I Am’ and ‘Fly’ just before I start writing the story to get me into the character first.

In a moment, everything can change

Feel the wind on your shoulders

For a minute, all the world can wait

Let go of your yesterday

Can you hear it calling

Can you feel it in your soul

Can you trust this longing

And take control

Fly

Open up the part of you that wants to hide away

You can shine

Forget about the reasons why you can't in life

And start to try

Cause it's your time

Time to fly

This is an uplifting song that helps me centre my thoughts on Jack as Flying Boy and brings in all of the positive thoughts that he may have as a teenage boy new to a world of super-powers.

YOU AIN’T SEEN NOTHIN’ YET – Avril Lavigne

This song brings in Jack’s love interest and how he will do anything to make sure that she is safe. Of course, in the beginning she has no knowledge of Jack’s powers, but as the story evolves, this song comes to the fore.

My place, you showed up with flowers

Your face, could stare at it for hours

Can't wait to see your superpowers

Don't stop baby, don't stop baby

When things become a life or death situation for Jack, I put on this song in order to get to his protective side… because, he is just learning how to use his powers, the villains truly “ain’t seen nothin’ yet”.

WHAT YOU’VE DONE TO ME – Samantha Jade

This is another song that focuses on Jack’s love interest and his over-protective side. He has a tumultuous love life – being that he is trying to hide his powers to protect those closest to him. Jack doesn’t actually know how to go about having a relationship (as he has never had one), let alone how to make it work with super-powers.

Sometimes you get what you want

Sometimes you get what you don't

Sometimes ya, get nothing at all

And when it finally comes round

You tear it up, break it down down

'Til there's nothing at all

Being that he is a teenager, Jack’s emotions are already all over the place, but this is further impacted by the fact that he has powers and he has enemies attacking him at every opportunity. This leaves him on again and off again when it comes to his relationships.

I'm a rocket to the sun

I'm a heartbeat on the run

That's what you've, what you've done to me

I'm a bullet I can fly

When you kiss me I could die

That's what you've, what you've done to me (Done to me, to me)

Sometimes you love but they don't

Sometimes they love but you won't

Sometimes ya, just can't figure it out

Jack needs to feel loved, but finds it difficult to maintain, as he always feels that he cannot have love in his life, because of his powers and the situations those powers get him into.

THE RETURN OF THE KING – Scribe

This song brings on images of a street battle scene, where Jack is forced to reveal his powers to the world in order to stop a villain from killing bystanders and escaping from police custody. The fast-paced music, along with Scribe’s powerful lyrics; which basically state that he is back and he’s not going to accept failure or anyone else being better than him; make this a great song for those occasions that Jack needs to power-up.

I will not lose

And I fight through this music

When I pray this is truest

And I ain’t gotta practice,

Cos I was born to do this

While most other super-powered characters in the series allow themselves to be guided by The Book of Power, Jack Majors simply runs on instinct, so this song’s dynamic music conjures up images of most battle scenes.

IT’S WHAT I’VE BECOME – Ashlee Simpson

This song brings on many images for the Jack Majors series, especially when he becomes inconsolable in later stories of the series – yet unwritten. It is basically an ‘emergence’ song for the story – due to the events that Jack has been through, he becomes someone that he does not want to be; an angry, vengeful teenager with super-powers – not a good mix.

It's what I've become

Let me live as who I am

Never wanted nothing

But you don't let me breathe as who I am

I've just begun, I've just begun

I've just begun to find my way

I've just begun, I've just begun

I've just begun to find my way

This song brings about ideas for the changes that Jack goes through, along with his thirst for vengeance.

RISE – Delta Goodrem

Of course, due to the state that Jack is in, our hero needs to return back to his character-altered, but heroic state and this song does just that in my mind. Jack needs someone to help pull him out of his angry/mournful state – someone to help him rise above it all.

So lift me up and,

Teach me how to love and,

Rise above it all now,

I’m crawling out of my skin.

So cut these strings

From all that’s held me down,

You’ve got to show me how to,

To believe again.

I’ve nothing left inside,

I’m trying to open up my eyes,

Help me to rise,

Help me to rise.

This is a powerful song that conjures images of Jack being assisted out of his darkness by the love of his parents; who would do anything (as most parents would) to see that their son is safe and feeling OK. It is a turning point for Jack, who has always believed that he needs to do everything by himself.

UNBREAKABLE – Bon Jovi

This song brings about Jack’s potential; it is where the main character could be if he begins to believe in himself and works towards building his skills.

But I won't run away, I'll be standing my ground

Seen all the screaming and fighting

Lived through the screaming and lying

I'm fine, you can't deny

I'm unbreakable, unstoppable, I'm invincible

C'mon bring it to me, cause I'm always gonna be unbreakable

Reliable, undeniable

Come on give it to me, cause I'm always gonna be unbreakable

This is a song that has me focused more towards the end of the series, but I like to have it playing to help me know where Jack is headed. I find that sometimes I lose my way with my writing and I’ll write pages of things that really do not coincide with where I want the character to go; so I’ll listen to this song to bring me back on the right track and work towards where Jack should be – a resilient, powerful hero.

Jack Majors: Superhero (2012)

This is by no means the complete playlist for my Jack Majors series; however I have highlighted the main songs I listen to for this main character. I actually have songs that bring forth images of all the lead characters depicted in the books and for major events that will occur once I have finished writing the series.

Hopefully you have enjoyed the insight into some of my writing process; if so send a heart my way – and a tip is always greatly appreciated. For those of you who are aspiring writers, I hope that this story has given you some inspiration as to how to approach your writing.

success
1

About the Creator

Travis Berketa

I am a father. I am a teacher. I am a writer.

I love reading fictional stories and I love writing fictional stories.

I hope you enjoy my contribution to Vocal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.