Motivation logo

Cracker Barrel, a Place to Eat, Shop, Relax, and Sleep

A reminder of the simple comforts of life

By Brenda MahlerPublished 6 months ago 4 min read
1
Image shared by author.

Fifty-six days on the road, yes 56! Each day planned out and a reservation waiting for us at the end of each day. Then we threw caution to the wind and drove thinking so far we have had no problem getting a site so let's just wing it and see where we end up. Everyone loves an adventure, right?

Our back story holds little surprise. We had visited many attractions and the cooling temperatures were signaling that it was time to head home. Two weeks of travel were still required but our plan was to bite of a larger chunk in one day and then take a break to play some golf before hitting the road again. After hours of driving, I suggested we explore our options. Randy's back bothers him if he sits in the driver's seat too long and we were approaching too long. 

There are definite signs that alert us to the need to find a place to spend the night. Randy begins to shift in his seat searching for comfort. My voice hits high notes making me sound like a broken violin whining for repair. The dogs pace in the small space available for movement. We begin to snack on food without moderation and every restaurant sign seems to be waving us in. 

Parked on the side of the raod, I explored the map and apps that always revealed a comfortable place to spend the night. Every possible spot was full, too far away or in our rear view mirror. Any traveler will agree that backtracking is out of the question but pushing ahead with no solution created frustration causing my vocal strings to tighten and the pitch of my voice to reach even higher notes. 

Randy looked at me with tired eyes hoping I would offer a solution especially since the wind had started blowing and maneuvering the 32 foot motorhome towing the car was becoming a handful. For a moment I hung my head then raised my eyes to the sky looking for a sign. There in front of me beamed a Cracker Barrel billboard. As my eyes traveled to its base, relief flooded my exhaustion with hop to see the actual restaurant sat just around the corner. 

Randy's mother worked at Cracker Barrel years ago as a hostess. I remember her mentioning they welcomed RV to stay in their parking lot over night. Was it too much to hope for? Thoughts of our stay in the Walmart parking lot years ago still haunted me so I didn't welcome this thought as an opportunity as much as a solution. Randy scoffed, "They won't let us stay there. Times have changed." 

Memories of Grandma Connie's stories while working at Cracker Barrel surfaced. She loved her job because the people were down to earth. She talked about the travelers who returned everytime they made a trip from their home through Idaho. The majority of Christmas presents from her always originated from the shelves of the country store, and everyone in the family owned one of their rocking chairs. When Connie passed away the Boise store even affixed a brass plaque to one of the rocking chairs in the front of the store in her memory. Well, it never hurts to ask so I called and talked to the hostess who responded in a kind, reassuring voice. "We would love to have you. I think are about the only place left that allow RVers to spend the night." 

Soothing music started playing in my mind, celebrating the good news. Then I realized the music originated from me. My whine in my voice disappeared and I spoke words of reassurance and hope as I informed Randy that we had a place to spend the night. To be honest, I believe a little smug self-righteousness added a melody to the words of my chorus. 

Randy thanked me for calling and his approval reminded me we play in the same orchestra and it requires both of us to make beautiful music. Anyway so much for this extended metaphor, we parked in the Cracker Barrel parking lot. To make it even better, I didn't have to cook. We ventured inside and enjoyed a meal served with warm cornbread. Before exiting the store, Randy even scored a new shirt off the 70% off rack. What seemed like it might be a rough evening turned out to be quite pleasant.

When the store closed at 9:00 all other vehicles exited and the surroundings were quiet until morning. There was little road noise and we all slept peacefully like babies listening to a lullaby. Sometimes all we have to do is ask and others share kindness. In our crazy, bustling, profit oriented world, my heart warms at the simple kindness of others, usually from individuals but on this evening from a huge corporated business chain that cares about people. 

Take care now.

successproduct review
1

About the Creator

Brenda Mahler

Travel

Writing Lessons

Memoirs

Poetry

Books AVAILABLE ON AMAZON.

* Lockers Speak: Voices from America's Youth

* Understanding the Power Not Yet shares Kari’s story following a stroke at 33.

* Live a Satisfying Life By Doing it Doggy Style explains how humans can life to the fullest.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test6 months ago

    Your overall message about the importance of asking for help and being kind to others.Thank you for sharing your story....

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.