Motivation logo

Covid-19: I am Infected, Not Affected

An African Shares His worries over the effects of Covid-19

By Richard NwachukwuPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Covid-19 (Image Source - Google Image search)

As the world witnesses a total lockdown following the covid-19 pandemic, several people around the globe seems not to be affected at all but the truth is, no one is immune to the effects of the pandemic

Reasons why we're all affected but Not Infected by Covid-19

In order to make it possible for my readers to understand my point, I'm going to use myself as a case study.

First of all, I'm an African. I'm a migrant and I reside in the United Arab Emirates, Dubai to be precise.

Aside the oil price war between Saudi Arabia and Russia which has thrown a very heavy blow to several economies around the world, Covid-19 pandemic is truly one issue that has respect for no body.

Over here in the United Arab Emirates, a lot of businesses have been temporarily closed, the nation is in lock down and residents, citizens are forced to stay home in order to reduce spread of the virus.

How am I affected as an expat, a migrant?

As an African, I work in a very small Chinese restaurant. It's called China Wok Restaurant and it hasn't really not been easy since the virus was declared a pandemic over a month ago.

The news had a number of ripple effects on the economy of Dubai and the country as a whole and for us restaurateurs who makes a living when ever teachers, students, workers places an order for what we sell, it left a great number of devastating blows on us.

Schools were shut as soon as the virus was discovered in Dubai and has remained closed till further notice!

Personally, I haven't been paid February salary. Reason being that the sales were terribly low and as I write this, I'm not very sure March salary is coming. because once again, things have gone sour and i can only but understand my employer. He's human too and even though he's not infected, he's affected!

The effects these has on me and everyone with same status is that, while my rents is yet to be paid, I sponsor a lot of siblings from whatever I save after all other expenses.

To my aged mother, it will mean her drugs will be delayed unless the doctors decides to show some mercy since we've always been regular.

To my siblings, it means whatever financial investments I made for their monthly upkeep, I'd have to cut down as well.

To those I've extended help to in one form or the other, I could only give what's left after my personal expenses.

What about other Personal projects?

I initially have been saving up some cash to enable me enroll for a course. I would love to enroll for a programming course which costs quite a lot.

I know tech is one aspect of the world that is constantly growing which means anyone lucky enough to have one of these "in-demand" programming skills will be able to afford a better life specially when you are able to migrate to countries like Canada or Australia or develop a very good software that could solve real life problems

As far as Covid-19 remains a pandemic, so long as it continues to rape the world at the current pace, I'm scared my dream may not be actualized as I may have to start spending whatever I've saved.

I work as a kitchen assistant in a Chinese restaurant, demand is low since it is of course a "Chinese Restaurant" selling foods assumed to be of Chinese origin at the time when the world "China" could be termed a nightmare! I am not infected by the deadly virus, but I am and will remain greatly affected since the happiest part of my existence that gives me hope would be affected...

Somehow I know and understand a lot of migrants around the world find themselves in a similar situation, even worse. I know it isn't easy for anyone right now but this is the world right?.

From health workers (doctors, nurses, scientists, biologists) to the courier and utility workers and to myself who stays up in the kitchen putting things together to make sure the chef prepares your meals, I want to say we're all doing our very to keep our fellow humans alive .

However, it'll be best for us to go on our duties bearing in mind the importance And benefits of social distancing as it not only saves us but also our customers!

I'm a bit sad...

Because its my vacation month but the airspace is shut and flights can't go. It's over 2 years and I've not seen my girlfriend, mum and siblings. This Covid-19 is really a heart breaker but I'm certain we will survive it

Yeah, as far as Covid-19 is concerned, I'm affected, not Infected. This post goes out to those who have in one way or the other got hit by the several economic effects of the pandemic. Maybe a dead loved one or a closed business, a goal you couldn't achieve because of the virus.

Be good, be hopeful and never give up hope. Don't forget, we're in this together and together we shall survive it.

  • This post was created by the author as a way of encouraging himself and anyone out there suffering the various effects of corona Virus in one way or the other
  • Image used was sourced from google image search

healing
Like

About the Creator

Richard Nwachukwu

www.kostville.com

www.guardianconstructors.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.