Motivation logo

Corona Virus

It's affecting everyone

By Hannah York Published 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Only some of the girls who have not only been great coworkers, but wonderful friends.

It's been a long couple weeks to say the least.

On March 6th, my car got stolen. My Nissan Altima that I worked so hard for, that I just bought in August. It was taken right out of my parking spot at my apartment complex. I left my keys in the car. I know that's my own fault, but it still doesn't mean that I deserved to get my car and everything inside of it stolen. $200, a new license, and a rental car later, I was finally able to legally drive again, but now my boyfriend and I had to struggle through figuring out how to pay rent and his car payment and my bills. Life started to get really complicated really fast.

During this time, I was also in the process of enlisting in the United States Army, causing me to take some days off work to be able to get paperwork and testing done. Then Ben stopped getting hours at some of his jobs, and it just started going downhill from there.

My car was found almost a week after it was stolen. The damage wasn't too bad, it looked like they had side swiped someone on the passenger side, but nothing that couldn't be fixed. They cleaned everything out of my car, but I wasn't overly concerned about that, because I knew insurance would cover stolen property from the car. I needed a new key for the car, which cost a whopping $360 that I definitely didn't have sitting around, but I figured out how to make it work.

Fast forward to the COVID-19 pandemic going on in the world. Things started shutting down, but my job was still going strong. I was working as a surgical technician at a privately owned veterinary clinic, and work was still going as normal. Today it finally happened. The practice manager informed us that she was going to have to start laying off employees. I had already put in my two week notice, so I knew I was going to be the first one. Understandably, but still frustrating. I loved my job, the people I worked with, and what I did on the daily. I knew it was going away soon, but I thought I would still have more time.

Moments before finding out I was getting laid off, my car was deemed a total loss by insurance. So the $360 I scraped together for the new key wasn't necessary, and I need to come up with the rest of my deductible, as well as find a new car with $0 to pay down. Luckily the person who sold me my first car has been working hard and found me a replacement, I just need to wait for my insurance to pay out my current car loan so I can get another one.

We still haven't figured out how to pay rent, we still haven't figured out how to cover the rest of the bills, but those will come. Things always get figured out in the end, and as stressful as it is, hopefully this will help shape us into the people we want to be in the future. Being an adult sucks, especially living through a pandemic that no one expected. Especially getting your personal property stolen and being old enough that you have to figure it out on your own. But at the end of the day, I've got Ben, Finn, Avocado, Envy, and my family in my corner, and that's what really matters. C'est la vie!

healing
Like

About the Creator

Hannah York

On 06/14/2016, my cousin committed suicide, and there were a lot of unanswered questions. After that, I decided that I didn't want to leave anything unanswered, so this page is a place for me to write anything and everything on my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.