Motivation logo

Coping

How Writing Can Help

By Ashley FieldsPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Coping
Photo by Jan Baborák on Unsplash

I want to write. I haven't had the chance to write too much but I have a feeling in my soul that I at least like to do it. I'm not saying I'm the next Steven King or anything but I do know that for 3 years back now I strangely enough developed a passion for at least just writing to myself.

I've thought about writing a book from time to time and I can almost picture a story in my head, one that looks a lot like mine would. One that follows down the same crazy, crooked path, as my life seems to have taken but only with a little more passion and emotion, a little bit more dramatic as it would be written from my own point of view. Lord only knows my point of view is pretty much highlighted super bright with my strong sense of self, heightened emotions.

You see I didn't always feel this way, or at the very least, I didn't always see myself clearly. I could relate it more to a TV show you could remember watching as an infant and then in later years come back to missed puns and missed meanings you never even realized existed. I never understood how over-dramatic I really was still learning how I could later remove myself and look at it as if I was a stranger looking in. Self-reflection was a big one for me. It is actually the tool that taught me that I could use writing in the first place. It was my way of talking about my problems with myself in a safe place.

By no means am I saying it's good to hide away in a corner like a crazy person, talking with your computer about your problems and no one else. All I'm saying is that it is a good start to developing a coping mechanism that can really help you to release some of the tension from the stresses of everyday life. And hey? If you're anything like me you can wind up finding out that you not only like to write but you might actually not be too bad at it altogether.

Writing has helped me out a lot. I discovered writing, not after many told me it could really help, but surprisingly enough after I had no one at all in the world to talk to.

I had been through a really traumatic time in my life. I then was forced to either talk with myself in a way, through my writing's or suffer from the constant negative self-talk repeating in a circle in my head instead. When I had no one to talk to about what I had been through, I turned to write, and since then it has been a major tool to help me self-reflect.

I have come to this amazing self-discovery that I could write poems about the questions I had as to why things in my life had to come to an end as they did or even had to play out, to begin with. The amazing things that came? Well, that's only something one can experience themselves. I've gotten more answers to some of life's biggest, smallest, and most personal questions just from writing about my life to myself in the third person.

Later I discovered more about sub-consciousness and that was my first self-discovery into the world of writing as a coping mechanism. If you're anything like me, have a curiosity about you that leaves you with more questions that you constantly have a determination to seek and find the answers to, then I recommend giving writing a shot. Even if you don't find your answer, it may just open the door to the possibility of why you shouldn't even have had the question to begin with!

Writing is like opening a door to a whole new world with different doors that have a whole new set of colors and knobs you have never even imagined before. And I hope that if you give way to your curiosity, you decide to open that door.

advice
1

About the Creator

Ashley Fields

I'm a book and a story just waiting to be discovered. The question is, do you like to read?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.