Motivation logo

Consistent, Amiable, & Nontoxic

Three regrettably anti-characteristics

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

It is incredibly tempting to write more about what I am, instead of what I'd like to be. I imagine it to be a blogger's turkey shoot.

Shaky moral compass notwithstanding, it's the allure of a challenge that I attempt to seize at present. It's largely warranted to "Embrace the suck", in my humble opinion.

My best guesstimate has the word "Toxic" being on track to take over the common vernacular immediately before The Rona came in like a wrecking ball. Not to be outdone, "Consistency" is more or less the least common denominator among many a young woman's brief (or not so brief) dating app bio.

Last but certainly not least, everyone and their mommas are desiring "good vibes" and/or "positive energy". In a word: "Amiability".

Granted, most amiable people are by definition nontoxic; though, not all nontoxic people are amiable. Regardless of the conventional wisdom to avoid playing the middle ground, many of us, myself included, do not adhere.

As any sharpshooter worth his weight in salt will tell you, "Consistency is the key to accuracy." Of course, there's the very real and present danger of consistently practicing bad fundamentals as well.

I can't judge those who abhor firearms and/or prefer that only police and military personnel have them. At the same time, I can't help but reflect on the several Quora answers and Instagram videos that I've read/seen recently touting the practicality and prudence that can be displayed by responsible gun owners and such.

Steering clear of politics for now, would we even recognize the world we live in today with a little more nontoxic and amiable consistency? "I think not!"- Wyclef Jean ('96).

For the sake of seeming obtuse: I believe that we hardly recognize our world now, as opposed to this same planet a few months prior. Whether or not people are beginning to stick their heads out of their shells, my gut tells me that we most assuredly want to believe that "trouble don't last always"- Kirk Franklin ('98).

The Golden Era of Hip Hop references aside, how do we actually bring about some unity within humanity, is the question begging to be asked; so I believe. As has been stated even decades prior to the global pandemic: We can unite mankind in love and understanding, or fear and loathing.

It largely seems as if we are allowing the latter to floor this red convertible called life. However, that is by no means a direct and lawful order that we must continue to allow to unfold before our very eyes.

What justification could we possibly give posterity (future generations) for our conquering by acquiescence? Is there anything anywhere more unforgivable?

In any event, there's little doubt that these are unprecedented times. Just about every so called influencer feasibly has or would concede as much.

It is a matter of fact; just "as sure as you're born"- James Brown ('68). In unrelated news: I'm collecting a myriad of tunes on my old phone.

I will be unable to download, update, or reinstall any apps therein until I get around to cleaning house and offload some of that aforementioned music. Begrudging immediate tasks not to be forsaken, I can't go back to only one phone.

Come to think of it, I may soon be in the personally uncharted territory of three fully serviced iPhones. At least I won't have to ask my children to share one between the two of them.

Tl;dr- There is a general consensus that only the weak pass out when times get hard. Us humans have not fainted yet; though, sadly we're certainly not far from it.

healing
Like

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.