Motivation logo

Confidence found in creation.

How relying on imagination has shaped my life.

By Laura McClurePublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1

I remember holding my mom’s little sewing kit in my lap while examining the supplies inside as if they were hidden treasures. My mom tells me I was seven years old when I first learned how to thread a needle, and practiced hand stitches on the scrap fabric that was tucked away inside the little wicker basket. She still has it today, and nearly thirty years later I still marvel at the antique kit. I think that’s the start of my love affair with sewing and crafting. One of my first projects was a messenger bag that I created from a pair of blue and white floral printed, denim Guess shorts that belonged to my big sister. I cut open the seams, and hand stitched the legs together. I fashioned a strap to wear it cross body, and voila! My sister wasn’t too happy with me, but I loved the repurposed shorts turned into a school bag. I carried it to school that year, utilizing the short’s pockets for pens and pencils. It was perfect for the time as messenger bags were all the rave, but expensive, so I made my very own!

I feel lucky to have found my passion at a young age; I was very shy and timid as a young child, and I credit this passion for sewing and crafting as my source of confidence, and individuality. I was a raggedy Anne kind of kid, frizzy curly hair, and grass stained clothes. I had a hard time making friends; I lived in my imagination and I think this coupled with my crippling shyness made it difficult. My grandma taught me how to draw, starting with the iconic Betty Boop! She herself was a painter, and always encouraged artistic pursuits. She told me that though I felt out of place, each person is gifted with unique qualities that make us special and beautiful. Over the years I have continued to craft and tinker with various fabrics, silk flowers, paint, and random bits and bobs, to create unique pieces and costumes. I’ve made a career out of it, working with ice skaters, acrobats, children’s theatrical productions, and community theatre productions. I found my place in the world with scissors in hand, machine threaded, and safety pins at the ready. After high school I thought I wanted to pursue biology at university, specifically animal sciences. While I loved every moment spent working with animals at the college farm, I dreaded the boring lectures, and non stop labs filled with dusty microscope slides. I struggled in school, and as hard as I studied I had lost my joy. I felt out of place again, and my grades back slid as well my motivation to finish school. I dropped out and waited tables for nearly a year while trying to plan what was next. I started to think of the high school plays I had helped to costume, and I remembered my costume shop teacher, and all of her encouragement. And then I thought of my grandmother who so fervently encouraged my imagination and creativity. I had enrolled in a science program thinking ultimately I needed to have a profession that was necessary and helpful to the world. But I realized that the arts ARE necessary and helpful in our world. I reenrolled in college aiming to finish my original degree, but this time I filled all of my open electives with art classes-Figure Drawing 101, The History of Fashion and the Social Order, and Fashion and Textile Design. The second time around I thrived! My grades even improved in my biology courses. I found my passion all over again, and I knew that no matter what I would never give it up.

Some of my favorite projects have been making costumes for children. I had a friend whose two daughters wanted to be mermaids, so naturally they needed mermaid tails. I used vivid blue and teal spandex that had the perfect shimmer, and on the fins I attached rainbow colored starfish for adornment. Two years in a row I created costumes for a children’s rendition of Lion King. I made pumas with furry tails, hyena head pieces with wild eyes and giant ears, and antelope with giant horns. I made my nephew’s first Halloween costume, his parents requested that he be a baby lobster. So I made my very first baby onesie out of a bright red stretch fabric, and a lobster tail given dimension with quilt batting. This was for my sister’s son, the same sister whom I not so nicely “borrowed” shorts from in order to make my very own messenger bag. I spent many late nights cutting fabric, pinning pieces together perfectly and stitching into the early hours of the morning. As tired as I get pulling these late nights, it is always worth it, if only to see how excited kids are when they get to play dress up. It takes me back to my childhood, and my first foray with creative projects and the joy I felt. We need to nurture children's imaginations, and give them the confidence to find themselves.

When the pandemic hit, I lost my job working in live entertainment. While I plan on a return to my industry when it’s time, I never fear that I’ll stop creating. My projects more recently have been upcycling thrift store clothing into new and unique pieces. This includes donated Nike and Adidas jackets and sportswear that I dismantle, using patterns for more modern silhouettes and tops, and reassembled into something new. It feels good to breathe new life into an old garment that may have ended up in a landfill. I have also started creating accessories from repurposed materials. For example: dollar store items used to make headpieces, masks, and jewelry. I have found beautiful and colorful ribbons that make vibrant Elizabethan ruff collars. At Christmas time I repurposed star shaped ornaments by cutting the base off and gluing them to a headband base. Add some glitter for extra sparkle and you’ve got yourself a one of a kind New Years Eve headpiece for a fun party! I enjoy making flower crowns; These are very popular and significant in many cultures around the world and can be worn for any festive occasion. I love to use bright and colorful flowers, and find peace in taking the time to arrange them *just so* before hand stitching them upon fixed headbands. Often I hand paint details on the flowers to give these elements an extra dimension. It’s a lesson in creativity for myself, and it’s fun for me to be resourceful. It’s the love of seeing something come to life, and knowing that my two hands helped to make it happen. Just add the right tools, choice materials, a bit of inspiration, and it’s the perfect recipe for contentment. I find that there is inspiration everywhere, and I’ve been lucky enough to travel a bit as well as work with people from all over the world. I have learned a lot along the way, and realize there is still so much to learn about this art that I pursue. I'll forever be grateful to the people who shaped me and taught me along the way, and hope that in turn I can give back what has been given to me.

happiness
1

About the Creator

Laura McClure

Just a lady who loves to dabble in creative projects, and loves working in the live entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Carol Driscoll2 years ago

    Apparently, you write as creatively and colorfully as you sew. I really enjoyed this article!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.