Motivation logo

Come With Me...

A happy place I carry with me

By Thee CrazyFaceUnoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - January 2021
16
Come With Me...
Photo by Mojtaba Ravanbakhsh on Unsplash

Way down deep in a little cozy corner of my mind, is a place of rest, a homey, reflection of myself. The highlight reel of moments gone but ever stamped in the rolodex of joyful times. A journey well past the melodic discovery of my favorite band in 2020, Glass Animals. Their song “Tangerine,” a unique blend of sounds parallel with the upbeat lyrical story of a couple falling out of love... Brilliant!

Past my favorite fast food order, #6 steak supreme Chalupas with a soft shell taco, and a Pepsi, from Taco Bell. You better believe I'm slathering that thing in Fire sauce... Gotta love a little heat!

Further than my favorite movie, Patch Adams, a cinematic masterpiece on how to treat people and be a good human… later inspiring me to pursue a degree in the medical field. Lets just say life took me in a different direction... But hey, look at me now!

Beyond still, the olfactory system that keeps me in tune with the present moment. A deep, mostly underappreciated, recess of my brain, is my happy place.

Life in general is filled with infinite moments of joy, and my life isn't much different. It's there; in an eternal hallway, hanging like royalty are gold framed photos. Each picture a different shape or size, neatly nestled together, one after another. Floor to ceiling littered with moments of joy, each one sharing a unique story. Stories foundational to who I am, surrounded by people and moments shared. Entrenched in love, sometimes sorrow, but inside every single picture, you can always witness joy.

Look at that one, it’s my wife... Wide-eyed and beautiful. It's been a couple years now but she still looks at me that same way; strong, compassionate, hopeful - in love. My heart was racing, and I was struggling not to cry but let me tell you, I had dreamed of that day. What a woman she is. I always knew she was special, even before our first official date. Not the one she cancelled several months prior, the actual first date event. Now that's a funny story!

Leopold's Mississippi Gardens, July 6, 2018

Awww, look at that one, it’s our dog, Chance! Oh man, do you see that big ol head of his? As I like to say, “there’s my buddy boy.” Who would have guessed that this sweet little San Antonio born tripod would enter our lives and grip us with so much love. People always thank us for adopting him with three legs but call it fate, we needed him too.

"Chance"

And that one, with the snow! The inaugural game for the new MLS soccer team in Minnesota. They say there's a first for everything and watching them use a snowblower to clear the lines on the field that day was certainly inaugural. I’ve loved soccer since I was a child, so watching a baby professional soccer team born into existence before my very eyes, in my city - now that was special. Add in our new found friends who we attended the game with, it was a memory I will not soon forget, regardless of the final score.

TCF Bank Stadium on March 12, 2017, MNUFC (1) vs AUFC (6)

Cozy corners come in many different shapes and sizes. Some are homes away from home. Some are splashed with color and beauty. Still, some are merely resting places for us to breathe easy, perhaps giving solace for a weary mind and body. My cozy corner? A happy place I carry with me, a place of retreat when times are hard. No matter where life takes me, no matter what life throws my way, I can always take a stroll down memory lane. Who knows, maybe my cozy corner of moments past is a glimpse at what life truly is, a peppering of joyful occasions reminding us to slow down, breathe in the fresh air, and carry on.

happiness
16

About the Creator

Thee CrazyFaceUno

We believe that everyone has a story, and everyone’s story matters. Read our posts, listen to our stories, and enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.