Motivation logo

Coffee is My Security Blanket

Energy Boost, Calming Agent, Cup of Comfort

By Linda RivenbarkPublished 2 years ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
8
Coffee is My Security Blanket
Photo by Hannah Wei on Unsplash

This Poem is being submitted to the Sensational Challenge in May 2023.

****

What puts me in my comfort zone?

Three little words: "The Coffee's On!"

Water bubbles, dripping down

Through the dry roast coffee grounds.

By John Schnobrich on Unsplash

Into the sparkling carafe -

Oh! What a way to start the day!

Anticipation slowly mounts,

Get the Splenda and creamer out.

By John Matychuk on Unsplash

Choose a mug from my collection,

Each a memory, a reflection

of another place and time,

Memories sad, or so sublime!

By Helena Lopes on Unsplash

Savor the smell as the cup is filled;

Let the anticipation build.

Steam wafts upward from the mug,

Embracing my senses like a hug.

By Erik Witsoe on Unsplash

Lift it up, inhale the scent...

Coffee time is time well spent!

By Candice Picard on Unsplash

AHHHH!

Let the world wait...

I am occupied.

My taste buds are going for a ride!

By Gian Cescon on Unsplash

Thanks for reading my poem about the joys of savoring a delectable cup of coffee and feeling the joy and sensational comfort it brings!

Now, why not go have a cup of coffee?!?!?

happiness
8

About the Creator

Linda Rivenbark

I believe in the magic of words, love, and tenacity. There is a world out there that needs to be explored, researched, and written out to try to make some sense of it, and to make a better place for the children of tomorrow.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • rose amy4 months ago

    Nice

  • Thank you so much, RM. This comment warms my writer soul!

  • Coffee -- the nectar of the gods! Thanks for sharing your poem. Now, I am off to find some coffee!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Hearted , Selfcare with coffee.

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    I am a huge coffee drinker. The best comfort of my day. All of our mugs are a memory too. Love this ❤️ ☕️❤️☕️❤️☕️

  • OMGOSH! This is SO me! Right down to the Splenda and cream. LOL! This thing had me standing at the coffeemaker at work going: "Come ON! I don't have all MINUTE!" LOL! Great job.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Awesome!!! Linda, your poem speaks to all the senses and it's comforting. Love it!!!💖😊💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.