Motivation logo

Changing My Relationship With Money

How selling a house changed my relationship with money and how that completely changed my life!

By AuroraPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Changing My Relationship With Money
Photo by Bruno Adam on Unsplash

In 2015 my younger sister challenged me to buy an apartment with her; when this happened I was finally living alone after 10 years of renting rooms in shared houses.

At that time, nearly in my 30's, I could count 50 housemates with whom I'd shared houses. The 10 years of moving around, from house to house and not always in the same city, brought me to experience moments as all of us have seen on Friends and moments of great loneliness even though the house was full of people.

I think all of this made me understand the yin and yang of life even before realizing It!

When my sister approached me with her intention, even though she didn't have any money or hardly any experience in life (so I thought) with her fresh 21 years of age, I honestly felt envy for her determination and ingenuity! But I was also moved by a new relationship, I was again in love, and someone loved me back!

So if in part I was still thinking - you are a hardworking girl, but life is hard, and money is scarce!

The other side of me was saying! - let's go for it! I'm in love and everything is possible (later on, I would discover that the famous YouTuber Dr. Bruce Lipton has a book called the Honeymoon effect), and I'm tired of sharing houses with people I don't know! Also, I'm tired of paying rent and not having any property I can call my own!

So just like that, we decided to start looking for houses! And in a couple of days, we found a two-bedroom apartment on the 4th floor with no elevator in an old building in a poor but upcoming neighborhood in the city center. An area that was once known for prostitution, junkies, and all kinds of marginalized people, but because of the municipality's plan, it was on the verge of becoming one of the most trendy neighborhoods of the city!

We loved the house, and my sister said that she would talk to our father; at the time, my relationship with my father was poor and cold, just like the one with money! But she spoke to him, and he agreed to lend us the money we needed for the 20% of the mortgage!

In the end, he gave us the money, 5000 € each. And after some issues with the real estate agency, we finally bought the house! But because I was nearly moving in with my partner, I kind of never lived there, and three years after purchasing the house, my sister started saying that she wanted to sell it! That the market had grown so much that we could double our money!

I agreed with her, and in a week, we sold the house for the double price we had bought it, and each of us made nearly 50000 €

This experience had a massive impact on me! I felt like a lottery winner! And because of this experience, my old beliefs about money started to melt!

Like children who think that they don't like broccoli, until one day they go to a friend's house and see the friend eating broccoli, and after that, broccoli turns out to be their favorite food! This was me! I was not too fond of money; money was a curse. I blamed money for this and that, here and there! But mostly I couldn't stand my father's money!

But this time, it was completely different. This time was no longer my father's money (even though he gave us the initial 5000€ ) or anyone else's money! Instead, it tasted just like my money! And I could do whatever I wanted with it! So for the first time, I could afford to go on holiday, that summer me and my love went to Menorca and stayed in a Five Star Hotel!

Because of that experience, I read books like Rich Dad, Poor Dad! Your Money Or Your Life! Unshakable! The Money Game! Principles For Success!

Books I never thought of reading before!

And then I came upon The Science Of Getting Rich (what a fantastic art piece) and The Game Of Life And How To Play it (another majestical piece of art) or Your Word is Your wand! And many others.

Meanwhile, I also took a course on Macrobiotics, and because of that, I started reading George Oshawa, Mishio Kushi, and other of his disciple's books. I got to know books like I Ching and Tao The Ching that are now part of me!

I started to see the same messages everywhere: We are magical creatures just like the seadragon!

We are all made from the same substance;

We have the power to turn on the button of awareness anytime!

Being ambitious is good when you are creating, not competing; this makes us superior beings!

Money is just a word; you are the true and only treasure you need!

Love is the strongest feeling of all, and it can only bring you happiness!

Forgive yourself and your parents!

Love yourself!

Back to the story, since my sister and I sold the house, my partner also sold her house, and together we bought a new place that we call home! I also bought a piece of land covered with oak and pine trees in Alentejo!

Now we live comfortably in a new neighborhood, and the way we interact with the word money has completely changed.

Because of that, I'm now able to do the things I love, like writing, reading, cooking, speaking, and giving love to everyone I meet!

I remember that, somewhere along this process, I listened to a guided meditation that took me back to my childhood;

I was in the kitchen and saw my father arguing one day with my mother because she had bought bananas when he had so many pears at home! Why did she buy the bananas? Weren't there enough pears?! How could she spend money like that?! And I was the one that had asked for the bananas!

It's essential to understand what we see in money!

It's essential to make new connections with the word money!

Money is at your service and it can become whatever you want it to be!

healing
Like

About the Creator

Aurora

I write about emotions; family matters; humor; macrobiotics; poetry; fiction; philosophy; love; wealth; grace; humor.

As a reader I love to learn something meaningful, I love to feel inspired and motivated, that’s also how I try to write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.