Motivation logo

Bullet Journals, Are They Worth It? I’m Not Entirely Sure Anymore.

Blogmas Day 1

By SejalPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Bullet Journals, Are They Worth It? I’m Not Entirely Sure Anymore.
Photo by Estée Janssens on Unsplash

Bullet Journaling was something that I looked forward to, then suddenly it became a chore. I don’t know what changed, but something certainly did.

Of course, bullet journaling isn’t for everyone. It’s time-consuming and sometimes draining on your health. But there are pros.

So, what are they? Let's find out!

SIDE NOTE: This is my first time participating in Blogmas, so be on the watch for posts at least every other day. This isn’t really a Christmas themed post, but those will be coming out soon!

Pros

  • Keeps everything on track(it is a planner)
  • You feel proud of your artwork and designs
  • And, there’s that feeling of victory that you already accomplished on of your goals for the new month(if you do monthly pages)
  • You get introduced to an awesome community of bullet journal enthusiasts.
  • And there is so much inspiration on YouTube, Pinterest, Instagram, etc.
  • An amazing way to record your life on paper
  • All you need is a pen, a book, and maybe a marker.
  • You have the feeling of your life being together, and that it can be all handled with your bullet journal on your side.
  • Very customizable- habit trackers, mood trackers, favorite songs, planning, tracking assignments, etc.
  • Portable, and it’s a gadget-free tool
  • You can express your thoughts much better on paper
  • Cons

    • Really time-consuming, especially if you don’t practice drawing much
    • Can be expensive, if you want good markers/pens
    • For me, it was mentally draining, since at the end of the month I would always stress that I didn’t do my bullet journal for the upcoming month
    • Sometimes I would create pages, and then forget about them
    • Having to track daily, could add stress
    • If you lose it, all your notes, tasks, and basically your months of hard work are lost. Even worse, if it ends up in the hands of the wrong person. You could've written your passwords or important information in it. Someone could have your literal phone book.
    • For me, my artwork and daily tasks feel private to me. I’m not a fan of someone looking through without me there. There’s no password for a bullet journal.
    • I would sometimes compare my artwork/design to others and it didn’t help me at all.

    Conclude

    As you can see, the bullet journal has its pros and cons(as all things do). One of the main reasons I’m doubting the bullet journal process is the impact it had on my mental health. Not only would I stress about it, and beat myself up for not finishing the layouts fast enough, but it drained my time.

    I would start looking at layout inspiration and outlining, but before I knew it, I needed to do other things. People say if you really want it, you wouldn’t be making excuses, and that you would make time for it. But I don’t think I really want it anymore.

    There are other higher priority activities that I need to spend my time on(like my blog). I’ve recently been experimenting with Pinterest and creating pins on there. Check out my profile here: Pinterest profile.

    And on the matter of keeping track of my tasks, I’ve recently started using ClickUp. If I like it after a month of two, maybe I’ll write a post on it. If you’re interested in that, let me know in the comments.

    Also if you have any pros, cons, or questions about bullet journaling, I would love to hear them.

    Take care. (⌒∇⌒)

    how to
    Like

    About the Creator

    Sejal

    Writer & Blogger | Student | Gen Z | Avid Book Reader | INFJ | (she/her)

    Reader insights

    Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

    How does it work?

    Add your insights

    Comments

    There are no comments for this story

    Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sign in to comment

      Find us on social media

      Miscellaneous links

      • Explore
      • Contact
      • Privacy Policy
      • Terms of Use
      • Support

      © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.