Motivation logo

Breaking Barriers: Diamond Cut Customs from Pressure to Prosperity

Meet Diamond Rudd CEO Celebrating Black Excellence in fashion

By Esteem CampbellPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

I’ve been blessed with the opportunity to interview Diamond from the “Diamond Cut Customs” A clothing brand founded in Eastern North Carolina. A company all about overcoming obstacles from the pressure that we feel from day to day, with our mental health and struggles, and turning that into diamonds. Pain breeds power and “The only thing that can cut a diamond is a diamond! in other words the only thing that could stop us is ourselves. Below is an audio transcription of the interview that we did and for my readers out there we also have the longer version of the interview below. Support by joining the Diamond club for all of us who struggle with mental health through wearable personal mantras to remind us all things work together for the good: one day at a time.

Can you tell us about the inspiration behind the name “Diamond Cut Customs”?

Well, my name is Diamond Rudd and growing up I was always reminded of the strength of a diamond. I was told nothing could cut a diamond but a diamond. That stuck with me because it made me feel like only I could bring myself down. It kind of applies to life too because you choose how you respond to situations even if you can’t control them in that moment. That’s where the Diamond Cut part came from, and I’ve always wanted to make custom pieces for individuals, so Diamond Cut Customs was born.

How do you approach creating custom clothing for your clients?

Typically, a client will come to me with a general concept that they want and I will draw up a few ideas, or they will bring me a reference photo for a design they would like on a piece of clothing. We will then collaborate and I will tweak the design here and there to meet their needs and satisfaction.

Can you share with us a particularly memorable project or commission you’ve worked on?

Well along with apparel, I also make custom logos, posters, and album covers. I’ll say the pieces that I remember the most are the ones I’ve had the most creative freedom on. The most memorable commission I worked on would have to be a logo for my sister’s boutique. It’s called Put You 1st Boutique and it’s because she didn’t have a particular concept she wanted, so it happened with me just throwing out rough sketches to her and then drawing it up for her and she loved it. The most memorable project I would have to say would be two matching dresses I made for me and my daughter because I actually promised her I would do that before she was born so that was very special to me.

How do you stay up to date with the latest fashion trends while maintaining a unique aesthetic for your brand?

I try to stay active on social media to see what people are typically drawn to, or what I see people wearing a lot whether it’s individuals who are local, far away, or even celebrities. In order to maintain a unique aesthetic for my brand, I try to think of concepts that are true to my core values and build designs off of that, versus just mimicking and imitating what I see a lot of other brands creating with a few minor changes.

Can you walk us through your design process, from initial consultation to final product?

Most of my clothing is based on positive affirmations, or principles I like to hold myself to. So initially, I start thinking of things I would tell myself when I was going through a dark time that allowed me to keep pushing forward. I have not always had the best mentality and I really want to help other individuals with their mental health as well. So I think of one of the concepts that allowed me to keep going, or fix in a sense a damaged part of me, in one of those dark moments and I try to think of a good way to present it within clothing. Next, I try to create a logo for the phrase, or draw up different images and concepts until I find one that I think will look the best and come across clearly. After that, I arrange the design on the clothing to where I think it would be best positioned when someone is wearing the clothing.

How do you ensure a personalized and exceptional experience for each of your clients?

In order to make sure that each experience with a client is personalized and exceptional, I try to make sure it is very collaborative. I really want the client to be 100 percent satisfied and make sure all of their needs are met with each design. So I find just shooting back and forth ideas, checking back in, and getting feedback on the project is very essential when working with custom pieces for your clientele.

How do you balance the demands of running a successful clothing line with other responsibilities?

I’m actually still working on this one. I currently go to school, I’m a stay at home mom, I do freelance contracting and other remote work, so balancing a clothing line and maintaining household responsibilities have not always been the easiest. I think just working towards that healthy balance by making goals of not only my clothing line but priorities within my personal life, and holding myself accountable to making time for both is what pushes me to get closer to that balance I need.

Can you give us a sneak peek into any exciting projects or collaborations you have in the works?

I was actually reached out to by an up incoming artist, his name is The Grand Wyz, we are supposed to be collaborating on some products in the near future. I also have a collection for Black History Month that will be a permanent collection dropping soon so I am excited for that as well.

How do you incorporate sustainability and ethical manufacturing practices into your business?

I’ve actually been trying to find different manufacturers with a lot more sustainable options. The clothing industry and clothing in general accounts for a lot of waste and I actually learned this doing a project in college and was shocked by the amount of waste produced each year from clothing so that is definitely something I am working to minimize.

What advice would you give to aspiring fashion designers looking to start their own custom clothing line?

I would tell them to just go for it. There is competition out there but there is room for everyone. If designing clothes is your passion and what you want to do, go for it. If you do what you love and make a career out of it, you have won and work won’t even feel like work. Just push yourself, don’t get discouraged if it does not start out like you want it to. Just stay true to yourself, your ideas, and what speaks to you and everything will align and fall into place. Don’t ever give up on your dreams, it’s your purpose asking to be born.

Clothing Website: bydiamondcutcustoms.myshopify.com

Social Media:

https://www.instagram.com/bubba.liciouz/

https://www.facebook.com/by.diamondcutcustoms

https://www.instagram.com/by.diamondcutcustoms/

https://www.tiktok.com/@bubba.licouz

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCCToaCnARet5C9Gm7dEtu6g

interview
Like

About the Creator

Esteem Campbell

driven educated hip hop journalist with a love for the culture and the music history.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.