Motivation logo

Boredom Is a Choice

The fight for enthusiasm

By The Breatharian BloggerPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I'm sure you've had this feeling. You're in the house watching TV. You're at work and hours seem to be passing you by. You're checking your phone during the day. Scrolling the feed because you're hungry for something. Anything to grab you for one moment. Anything to take you away as an escape from reality.

You start to think to yourself, what to do with all this time? Why am I so bored? Well, I'm here to disappoint you my friend. Boredom is a myth. But even more so, boredom is a choice. There's a quote I love by a famous comedian.

"'I'm bored' is a useless thing to say. I mean, you live in a great, big, vast world that you've seen none percent of. Even the inside of your own mind is endless; it goes on forever, inwardly, do you understand? The fact that you're alive is amazing, so you don't get to say 'I'm bored.'" ~Louis C.K.

I also love the quote by Dr. Wayne Dyer that says.

"Being bored is a choice. There's no such thing as boredom in the world. There are only people choosing to be bored."

What does boredom mean to you. Are you ever actually bored or are you a person who has chosen boredom for a time? Realize that it's a choice we make like anything else.

A Bold Choice

Photo by Julian Howard on Unsplash

When I look around, I see that there's so much to be thankful for, so much to be grateful for and so much that fascinates me. I know that I can go out in nature and observe the wildlife. I can go to a mall where I see people who captivate me. Each of us has different mannerisms. There are countless ways in which every individual is unique. The way we all walk is different. Our eyes are different. Our teeth are different. There are variations within you that no one else can claim.

I've learned that a huge part in never having boredom is when you can laugh at yourself. Laugh at your own mistakes and laugh at your own misfortune. One day, as I was standing outside of a store, a bird pooped on me. I could have cursed this moment and gotten angry, but instead I broke out laughing. It was the choice I made in that moment. This mentality does not have to be uncommon. Most of us are making unconscious choices like this every day.

As technology grows and we get more convenience, our imagination starts to dwindle. Our imaginations are now tailor made for us, manufactured by many sources of entertainment. I myself am guilty of the consumption. This means an increase of people choosing boredom. People are unaware of the amazing powers that lie dormant inside them.

Now I am talking to you my friend. You have tremendous, amazing, and astounding creative powers within you. At all times, they are waiting to bubble up to the surface. Waiting for a pen to touch paper or your fingers to touch a keyboard. Waiting for the voice inside to be expressed.

I am saying that you don't deserve to be bored. It is a disservice to the creative genius that resides at all times within you. You deserve to know your own greatness. You deserve to be everything you believe that you could ever achieve. Don't be bored. Be bold. Shun boredom and kick it to the curb. Allow yourself to find excitement again. Start to revise your life and let it be one that lacks boredom.

Find me on Twitter and Instagram: @jromeshaw

Thank you for taking the time to read this article my friend. If you gained value from this, why not drop a tip as it encourages me to continue creating new content! Your support is greatly appreciated!

happiness
Like

About the Creator

The Breatharian Blogger

Here to inspire you on your journey. ✊🏾

Connect with me on IG @jromeshaw

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.