Motivation logo

Blackberry Dreams

By M.G.Trehern

By M. G. TrehernPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
I am Blackberry Fairy of Faeriedale.

I am a faerie, and my name is Blackberry. I enjoy sweet treats, magical things, and tutus. I am magically weird, and I sparkle and shine. I am also an author and an adult with ADHD, a traumatic brain injury, and a learning disability. I know I can do anything I set my heart and mind to with passion and faith.

What started out as literally a dream turned into my passion project. One night after I cut off all my hair, I dreamt I was a costumed faerie who read stories to children. In the dream, my name was Absinthe, and I wore green. Upon waking, I remembered feeling incredibly happy and fulfilled by this dream. I also remember thinking that Absinthe was not a good role model for children.

For fun, I enjoy dressing up in costumes and attending renaissance festivals and events. After four years of playing the same original character, Trouble Mayking, my inner child longed to be a faerie. I remember going to the mirror and asking myself, “what kind of faerie could I be?”

My jet-black hair and pixie haircut reminded me of blackberries, and I looked the name up online to see if anyone had claimed it as their own. Most of the social media accounts were available, and I made them mine!

I named my character Blackberry Fairy. Her last name is Fairy, which is a common surname in the faerie realm. Then I went to see what costume pieces I already possessed. Within 1 hour, I had enough black and purple pieces to turn myself into a faerie.

As a thespian, I knew that one of the best ways to get to know a new character is to write about them. I scribbled out a short story about an odd little faerie from Faeriedale who just did not fit in. I used personal experiences to tell her story, and on March 4, 2017, Blackberry Fairy of Faeriedale was born.

My profession is graphic design. I went to school for it, I graduated with a degree in it, and I have had a career doing it for over two decades. However, when I graduated from college, I discovered I wanted to be a writer, and I have been working on it ever since.

Having the natural gift of gab and storytelling, I longed to write. I tried to write a novel and a few short stories, but I was not a known name. Not a single literary agent wanted to take a chance on me. It was easier for me to get my dream job in my profession or meet my husband than get picked up by a literary agent.

As a graphic designer, I knew I could easily create a book, so I decided to self-publish. I quickly learned how hard it was to be a self-published author. Nobody wants to pay $10 for a print-on-demand book worth $3 if it was mass-produced. I have received several positive reviews for my book, but I have only sold about 100 copies. I believe the book’s price holds the success of the book back.

Moving forward, I intend to republish the book with illustrations and do everything in my power and budget to get my story into the hands of every child I can. I have nine more short stories to write about Blackberry. Right now, I am actively working on manifesting the startup capital to get my beloved faerie off the ground. The pandemic set back some of my fundraising events, but it allowed me to take a step back and figure out what I wanted to do and how I would do it.

My goal is to make faeries cool. Everywhere you look, you see unicorns and mermaids but very few faeries. I believe in my heart of hearts that faeries could be the next best thing, and I intend to be a part of it.

It has been interesting to listen to children at my events who ask me if I am a Disney princess. I tell them, “No, not yet.” They tend to bring up Tinkerbell, and I explain to them that she is a pixie and not a faerie. Most people do not know the difference, but it is my mission to change that.

My vision is crystal clear. I foresee a cartoon or a tv series about Blackberry Fairy. I believe that Blackberry Fairy will inspire children worldwide to be the best humans they can possibly be. I want them to know that they should never let adversity stand in their way or hold them back from their dreams.

Over the next few years, I will be publishing the first five books of Blackberry Fairy’s series. I intend to manifest the resources I need to acquire an RV to travel and entertain people while wearing my faerie costume. I will travel to various events to promote reading and the joy of creative writing.

A dream can become your reality; you must believe in it, and I most certainly do.

happiness
1

About the Creator

M. G. Trehern

I am a fantasy fiction children's author, story teller, and costumed entertainer, M.G.Trehern. My original character's name is Blackberry Fairy. Follow me on FB & IG at BlackberryFairy !

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.