Motivation logo

Betting on Me!

Being a part of my own rescue

By Cymphony ThompsonPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

2010 through 2016 was a world wind for me. After losses and an emotional roller coaster of a “Situationship” my collegiate career could have won a Grammy! I had been in college for 6 years and even with a degree in Biology there wasn't really a market for me. Application after application after application I was completely worn out. I felt like giving up and finally an interview came in! It's not what I was interested in but it paid for me to go back to school until I figured out what I truly wanted to do. Dentistry was out of the picture after it took me so long to get out of undergrad yet here I was re-enrolling in another college course! I began working at the University Police department Summer 2016 and everyone is excited because this means more money! I try to find the excitement within but I just can’t but why not? Isn't this what you wanted? A good paying job! But still I wasn't fulfilled. I finally gave up my ex and I started focusing on myself. I have an idea to start a nonprofit which has become my speaking platform Be You: Be a part of your own rescue. I am still in Grad school and working full time but I don't see the purpose in working these long hours to pay bills at a house I am never at.

I had just gotten my first apartment. I was so proud of myself yet I was never home to enjoy it! Unfulfilled, overworked and unappreciated, I knew that working at the police department and being in the masters program was not what I wanted to do.But what did I need to be doing? Months go by and I’m just going through the motions until one day I decide I’m going to apply to be a substitute teacher. NEVER in my life did I ever think that I would be a teacher! My grandmother used to tell me all the time I looked like a teacher but never did I expect it to become my profession lol. I applied to sub at our local schools and the very first day I fell deeply in love! I got to go to so many amazing schools and meet so many amazing little learners that impacted my life in so many different ways. So here I am working at the police department, working at the school bookstore and a substitute teacher on my off days. I had to make a decision to let something go.

I had been working off and on at the bookstore for years so it was easy to let it go but subbing wouldn't replace the income I made at the police department so I decided to apply for teaching positions with the board. After applying for what seemed like every position they offered I finally got an interview for an elementary school and immediately got the job! I started working January 2018 in the interview the principal explained to me that I would be the SPED Paraprofessional for Kindergarten and First Grade. Now growing up what I was taught was SPED and the students that I was introduced to none had physical disabilities but they all had emotional behavior disorder (EBD) or got kicked out of other schools because of disciplinary issues, they were often considered the problem child.

While working with my students I learned more about communication with both children and adults and I learned to redirect and defuse situations while getting to the core of the issue! I learned that we are all adults that never learned how to properly communicate and take care of ourselves so it is our jobs now as an adult to “do the work”. Most if not all of my students have been or currently live in situations not conducive for a school age child.(which is most of our stories) They have severe anger issues and they are always in defense mode. (most of us suffer from PTSD and anxiety and don't know it) So I had to learn to not teach them as if I saw their circumstance which means I had to get closer and learn from them. I was at my school for three years and when I say teaching for the last 4 years has been a beautiful and life changing experience. I learned that although I love to teach I am unable to cater to each student's needs as they need if I stay with the board so August of this year (2021) I decided to quit my job and focus on my businesses! I have a Creative Apparel line that I started in 2018 and I also offer tutoring and homework help services to Pre-k, Kindergarten and First grade students. I am now able to teach my students according to their needs. I am able to help students learn to manage their emotions and communicate their feelings. I am able to provide my students with one-on-one learning just for them and it is so fulfilling! It makes everything worth it the 6 years in undergrad and feeling defeated and unmotivated. Overworking myself at the police department and not taking care of myself to now being able to focus on the Creative Apparel line and offer inspirational clothes and educate others on the importance of Self-Care. I am taking this Self-Care movement beyond anything that my heart could have imagined. I am at peace because I chose to be a part of my own rescue!

advice
Like

About the Creator

Cymphony Thompson

I am a Self-Care Coach who helps millennials create intentional holistic self-care routines. Inspiring others to "fill their own cups" is what motivated me to create my own self-care movement.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.