Motivation logo

Being Different.

Moving past what other people think.

By Jackyys_Published 4 years ago 4 min read
1

It is hard to deal with judgement especially when you are recieving it from the people you love. When you had no choice but to grow up in a certain place and use what you were given to the best of your ability. Maybe you grew up in a tightly woven small town, and were tought to base your purpose on a certain religion to make meaning out of your life. Just one example, although there are billions of other communities and traditions that exist. Ways of being that were passed down from generation to generation. All meaningful and purposeful in their own ways, I have learned that there is no right or wrong belief. Humans, still do human things even if they are aligned with the best kind of traditions and beleifs and religions. People still disagree, and people still judge which does not make sense you would think that they would practice what they preach right?

This all comes together once you decide to step out of your box. What is your box might you ask? The desire to expand and learn more, the desire to experience things that call to our hearts. For the longest time I have been a huge fan of music. I feel my best when I can express myself through the rhythm and sounds. Although music, especially the kind is not widely accepted. Mexican culture expects you to marry and have kids, be religious and cater to your family. Pursue a career yes, but self expression? That is highly judged and seen as unecessary, especially if it is not in Spanish or relates to the culture in a form. My struggles have been a test for me, I am one person in a huge world. What is your box, and what calls you to explore the opposite side of the world you are currently in?

What led me to start asking my own questions, is that it just didn't make sense to me. If you love me because I am genuine and nice, why do you judge me on how I dress and what I believe in? Why does this person not see that they are creating stress and judgement with themselves? Labeling things in order to conform to a specific box so people don't point fingers and laugh. Being different is hard to encounter, especially when you really care about what other people think of you.

One could bring up a very important view which is, if I change I will lose my stability, family and the only poeple I have in my life. The people I let down and disappoint, I would never want to hurt the people who want to help me. A very heavy and challenging test of your own values. Do you value what others think of you more than you're own happiness? How much more do you think you have to manage if you were always keeping tabs on what people want for you? You may be a lot more stressed and easily upset because of how people are making your choices for you.

What if you thought that the people in your life were already winners? That they didn't need you in order to be happy, and that they were capable of creating their own happiness? Wouldn't that not only change your view of them from needing help and assistance to letting them discover themselves on their own? You could be ignoring your call to discovering and reaping the rewards of leading with your truth. Rewards that can diminish the hard work and pain that is easy to carry when you always have to conceal your real feelings.

Love will prevail, a saying I have adopted through my own experiences many times over. I have created experiences for myself that I wouldn't have done if I had chosen to lead the life that was pre-built for me. Those experiences that have called my heart to explore have given me more community and more liberation than any other pre-written beliefs have. Through the proof I have created for myself I am continuing to see through illusions and to Truth. If that requires me to stand out and be different, then I will make sure to pour my heart and soul because it will be worth it. Choosing to live with excitement and curiosity, and knowing that I created the best time exressing my art.

advice
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.