Motivation logo

Becoming

I am here

By LoganPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Gratitude for my experience

I am passionate about creating. I use poetry and paintings to heal my inner child. I love to share my art because it fulfills my spirit. I believe that my art connects people.

I started creating because I wanted to feel connected to something…to anything. I felt disconnected from reality after the death of my father. I never experienced death first hand, and like any child who has lost a parent, I was traumatized. The entire trajectory of my life changed and I felt lost with no sense of guidance. As a result, I dealt with anxiety and depression as a young teen. This showed up in the way I expressed myself (or the lack thereof). Which, consequently, followed me into my adulthood. I did not know how to express the various emotions I felt until I started to create art. Art for me was a friend and a healthy outlet that I never experienced before. I finally felt that sense of connection I longed for.

Now, instead of spiraling I try to use my emotions as a roadmap to guide my art process. Shortly after my father’s transition I also started my spiritual journey, which plays a huge role in my art process as well. I incorporate colors and symbols that I feel drawn to, and place them with intention while painting. When I’m writing poetry I use my emotions to make a picture with my words. When I can’t write, I paint. When I can’t paint, I write… both are separate but one in the same.

I embrace my individuality through my art. I am forever changing, which is shown as my style changes overtime. I did not know what I learned then would help me navigate through life now, and I am only at the start of my journey. Those events were only beginning for me. I was unaware at the time, but a seed was being planted into my life. My father’s transition was not the end as I thought…it was actually the start of my becoming. I decided to embrace my gifts...I decided to let that pain inspire me.

I believe that I was created to create. I believed that my father sacrificed so I could cultivate my gifts. Which is why I have a duty to create, and to create with love. Art is what connects me to others, and my art is a gift to the world. At times, I am weary and I doubt myself. Then, I think about what has been sacrificed for me to be here…for me to create and I see myself in a higher state. I believe that art, in any form, is a reflection of the human experience. I think creating art is a huge responsibility. As an artist, I can create what I would like to see in the world…that responsibility is something I am grateful for. Art gives me faith. Art connects me to myself and to other beings.

I know that my art holds value…but honestly as a young black, female, artist in America I’m not always supported or valued…this is true. However, I believe that I have a purpose which will align me with the support I need in order to grow a strong foundation to flourish on my journey…not just survive. I hold faith because I believe that I am guided. I believe that I have a purpose here on Earth. I chose to be an artist, and I accept the good and bad…it is a part of my experience. I am becoming the artist I was born to be…with every brush stroke, every word, and every lesson, I am grateful.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Logan

I write poems and make art to help me heal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.