Motivation logo

Be Present

My Journey into Now

By Brandon PhiferPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Christmas has passed, but presence is still important. As we enter 2022 I aim at experiencing Now and the fruits of this pursuit are already being revealed.

Often we are pulled forward through time, distracted.

THE PAST has a funny way of keeping our attention. Around friends and family we reminisce about the good times. In the world of inner contemplation we may regret decisions we have made or replay scenarios where we would have rather made a different choice.

THE FUTURE also clamors for recognition. We worry about tomorrow and stress about what-ifs that may never even occur. Even the optimistic anticipation of goals and dreams can leave us frustrated with where we are today. If we are not present, excitement about what the future holds can be mixed with a subtle disappointment that we have not already achieved the results we hope for.

I am learning the importance of intentionally resisting distractions to fix my awareness on the moment I am actively experiencing. Amazingly, this is easier said than done.

It seems experiencing the present moment without naming it or consciously thinking about it, is ironically the key to enjoyment. As soon as thought enters the picture, it snowballs until we have drifted back into the past or present.

To be in the moment, I am patiently training myself to notice all the seemingly meaningless details around me. I leave my phone in my pocket as I walk into work. I notice the sound of my footsteps and the noise of highway traffic nearby. I feel the cool breeze on my face. I hear the clicking sound of the door as my key fob scans the pad for entry. Gripping the cold handle, I notice the resistance the door offers as I pull. The smell of fresh coffee wafts through the hallway and the sound of muffled voices travels down the corridor. I do not allow myself to chase the rabbit trail that is my To-Do List. The moment is mine and I will not be carried off into the future.

I am careful to not consciously think "this door handle is cold" or "that is coffee I smell." I observe the sights and smells and feelings with as little thought as possible. I shut off the little voice that wants to talk by focusing on my breath. Taking a deep breath to focus on a long inhale and an even longer exhale can shut the mind back off and bring us back to Now.

Initially the voice in my head got louder, to beckon me to not waste time. As if thinking about what I am going to do later accomplishes anything right now. Yet the more I practice the presence of now, the calmer I feel. When I need to perform tasks, I find my focus is stronger. My creative energy flows more effortlessly.

I have read that establishing one word to characterize your goals for the year can be extremely powerful. My word for the new year is Presence. Although the year has just begun, quietly reminding myself of this word while reconnecting with my breath has already proved to be quite meditative.

The positive fallout from avoiding distractions in the quiet moments of my day has surpassed my expectations. I am more engaged in conversations with the people around me, focusing on their words instead of the ones I want to say when they stop talking. I am more aware of the negative thought patterns that circle around in my mind and am able to replace them with positive affirmations instead. A smile from my child, a kiss from my wife, a hug from a friend, and a handshake from a new acquaintance just hit deeper.

Without even needing to consciously think the words 'Thank You', I find myself experiencing a deep sense of gratitude.

I'm excited about the future and how the year will unfold, but I'm (imperfectly) enjoying each moment along the way. The future is a gift because we aren't promised tomorrow, but I'm grateful for the Present.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Brandon Phifer

Happily married, father of four. Writing has always taken a back seat to life, but I seem to always find my way back to it. I've decided to finally trust my mom's lifelong encouragement and write more consistently & let creativity flow!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.